The Backyard

Our rating 

User rating 

11 reviews
Venue Image
31 Northcote Road,
Northcote
Auckland,
0632

(09) 419 6299

Add a User Review for

The Backyard
Add user review button
Add your own review of this

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer stephanieanna
10/10/2013
Backyard is a nice bar, I really like that the outdoor area at the front has heaters! I have been here alot and have found the bar staff to be friendly. Food is really nice and very generous in size, especially the prawns, and the ribs. It gets really busy here when there is a game on and has a great atmosphere!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
28/03/2012
Living in East Auckland it's not often I venture onto "the Shore". However, it was an easy 20 minute drive and parking was a breeze... actually A LOT easier then heading to the viaduct for some food and drinks!

We were meeting friends for a mid-week catch-up and couldn't have picked a better spot. I loved the interior - a couple of funky different looks - and the outdoor eating area was very inviting, although unfortunately full (should've booked!). Setting up near the huge fish tank, we found the service at the backyard to be fantastic. The waitresses were very friendly and attentive (although we did have to ask for the specials... oops!). The lighting and music were spot on for a quiet drink and a meal with friends.

The menu was pretty good, offering burgers, pizza, steaks and salad although noticeably there weren't any entrees (except for breads). The pricing was pretty high for a gastro-pub, but not so high so that we thought it was inappropriate. The food itself was only really average. My scotch fillet was cooked to a great medium-rare but was a bit fatty and slightly chewy (and I am very fussy when it comes to steak!) and the mashed potato was warm (not hot). However, the salt-and-pepper squid got good reviews (and great value at only $15.50 for a huge plate of it) and the Surf n Turf gave me menu-envy too. Anyone who includes Kapiti ice cream in their dessert menu is a winner for me and the chocolate mud cake was divine and presented beautifully too. My creme brulee-loving friend thought their dessert was good, although not the best they've had.

Overall, the Backyard is a great place with okay food so if heading over the Harbour Bridge again, I would go back (and I hear they have great live music so it might even be worth that big trip to Takapuna on a Friday night!).
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer 2fast2furious
16/06/2011
best bar on the shore - pretty loose which is all good and makes for a good night. Looking forward to summers at the backyard - good reason to head into taka
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer falealili
27/01/2010
Haven't eaten here but have been there for a pool party and to see Cassius play. Pretty nice bar, was a good venue for the pool party but kinda of a strange layout when the band was playing.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
24/01/2010
Excellent place for the family to go, great food and awesome outdoor area for the kids. Very friendly and obliging staff. Will definitely take the family back.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Offshore
14/12/2009
We went to Backyard to catch up with friends for Lunch on a Sunday, Sun was out so it was perfect place to be! Service was great the Bar Manager was very attentive and made sure everyone was looked after.
My mate recommended the "Backyard Burger" served with fries which did not disappoint!
We ended up staying for a few hours and everyone had a great time!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer DirtyHarry
29/11/2009
Primo food! Good place to watch a footy match.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer mikem
13/09/2009
Being Approximately 500m from auckland finest - Tonar St - why oh why do the Backyard bouncers think they are in downtown L.A.? They dress sharply and its a great establishment, but these guys are just egotistical penises. I was enjoying an afternoon beverage there on one occasion and the off duty bouncers were there in NFL singlets, Baseball caps and had shitty lines shaved into their facial hair. One big goon that works there was bragging about pinning a patron to the ground, dislocating his shoulder and knocking him unconscious. If someone is being a dick and not behaving as they should then get rid of them. Its not the hardest to over power a grossly intoxicated person so why go to such extremes to ruin someone, best of luck if they approach someone who can look after themselves; Then then have the brains to brag about it where the public can hear?? Absolute winner..The place is great and seriously has the potential to become the place to be on the shore for a good time, but those clowns ruin it for everyone. One factor needs to change to make the backyard top notch.
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.

Archive

View past user reviews for this venue/film.
 
Nearest

What's near The Backyard?

Below are the nearest 5 venues within 500 metres of The Backyard.
Pubs & Bars near The Backyard (0)
Cinemas near The Backyard (0)

Most Read Today

image
01 Auckland's Best Outlet Shops

We check out the five best spots for outlet shoppi...

image
02 Auckland's Best Free Kids Activities

We check out the best five free kids activities in...

image
03 Auckland's Best Malls

Check out our picks of the top five malls in Auckl...

image
04 Rainy Day Ideas in Auckland

Use these ideas to get you started, and the kids m...

image
05 Guide to Britomart Restaurants and Cafes

A round up of the most delectable dining in the Br...

Content updated: 02/09/2014 06:33
 

Noteworthy

Live Music in AucklandLive Music in Auckland

So many concerts - so little time!

Get Listed

Whats On Most Viewed

Hitwise Award Winner