Toto's Italian Restaurant

Our rating 

User rating 

11 reviews
Venue Image
53 Nelson Street,
Auckland Central
Auckland,
1010

(09) 302 2665

Add a User Review for

Toto's Italian Restaurant
Add user review button
Add your own review of this restaurant

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer stephanieanna
30/10/2013
YUM! I bought a voucher from a deal site for Toto's having never heard of it but being interested to try the metre long pizza. We went with some friend s to pick the pizza up as we knew we wouldn't be able to eat the whole thing ourselves. We picked the D'oro pizza which has champagne ham, mozzarella, caramelised onions etc. It tasted even better than it sounds. The ingredients all tasted fresh and they weren't afraid to use enough meat and cheese- just what I like! We all enjoyed and think that the metre long pizza is such a great idea. We grabbed ours and headed to the beach with it. There were 5 of us- 3 were males, and we still has pieces left over. I will be going back to try another flavour soon :) Great service too, and we didn't have to wait long.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
29/05/2013
We have never been let down by Toto’s, the “fine dining” Italian restaurant is a multi-award winning restaurant but this sentence is banded around so many times because the chef won a 50m swimming badge at school or something. However Toto has won actual awards including Best Italian in the Metro multiple times.
Service was friendly on arrival and throughout with lots of recommendations of food and wine and it’s these little things that sometimes make a difference in service.
They were quite accommodating with my wife’s food serving her a side dish for entrée and changing out the gorgonzola gnocchi for gnocchi in a tomato sauce with fresh mozzarella. The side was just a rocket salad, simple but nice and the gnocchi was very colourful with little nuggets of mozzarella which was just perfectly melting.
For me my entrée was prawns stuffed with truffle and some cauliflower puree. One of the tastiest dishes I have had for a while. The main had a slight issue. I ordered the veal which sounded amazing and it was repeated back to me as “veal – excellent choice” however when the mains arrived I was given the venison, definitely a till error as oppose to a kitchen error as the bill had venison on it also. Now under normal circumstances I would have said something except we were in a little rush to get back to the baby and the Venison was my second choice anyway so I was still content. That aside the venison was as tender as expected and well-cooked the dish itself with jus, bok choi, chilli relish and the meat was a little unimaginative compared with the veal that I actually ordered.
We were full but went ahead and ordered dessert anyway. My wife a chocolate fondant which is her standard order if there is one on the menu and me a mango pannacotta, both were adequate and the chocolate fondant was cooked perfectly the only complaint is we got liquorice ice cream with our desserts (as requested) but there was no flavour at all which was a shame.
Can't wait to return again
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer HayleyNR
16/12/2012
I am a regular of Toto' and always thoroughly enjoy my time there.
Saturdays are always my favorite because of the Opera.
My most recent visit was no exception even though we went on a Friday.
We had a lovely waitress who was all smiles and accommodation and was very patient with the colleagues i was with when they were exceedingly indecisive over the menu. She took the time to explain each dish to them and had good knowledge of each item which I find is rare in restaurants nower days.
We had the the Affatato and cocktails to start and shared the entree between us. They make the bread in house and it came out fresh and warm.
We took our time, (my friends are particularly slow eaters) and we didn't feel rushed to make the table available again which we find sometimes in other places.
For mains we had the Pork, Duck and I had the Ravioli that I cant resist having EVERY time I go. (its that good!).
Pork was cooked really well, with a good juicy meat and a snap on the crackling and the Duck was beautifully done. The portions are proper "Mama" size and you certainly don't leave feeling hungry.
The sommelier matched wines for us with our mains and again, took the time to chat to us about the wines and why they would suit what we were eating. He wasn't wrong.
We finished up with the dessert platter for two, which was plenty for the three of us. Fav's were the tirimasu and the panacotta.
Over all i always have a great time at Toto'. In summer I prefer to sit out on the deck, and winter the roaring fires on either end of the dining room make a really cosy evening. Definitely not one to miss.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer brun
15/12/2012
If you are looking for a restaurant to have an excellent food, incredible wines and superb service, please go to Toto´.
I went by myself, and I really enjoyed every minute there. Friendly and warm staff, help you to do a perfect match from an excellent menu (every dish sounds good) and wine menu.

Thanks for everything guys, I´ll be back.
From Chile
Pablo,
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer gretchen294
16/10/2012
Dined here last week having heard a number of friends rave about the place. Italian isn't my normal choice but a colleague had enjoyed Toto's 'Lunch' special so on his recommendation paid it a visit.
Two plates for under $40 which I though was pretty good. I had the baby calamari and the gnocchi - flavours were huge and probably just the right amount of food for a lunch...although I did like the sound of the tiramisu that went whizzing by my table.
My dining companion and I both agreed that we'd be back to Toto's - probably for a dinner where we could comfortably find more room! Glad I tried Toto's Restaurant out.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Clare Calvert
20/09/2012
My husband and I ate at Toto's Italian Restaurant recently for a special occasion and had booked ahead. We had been once before and had an awesome experience so were looking forward to returning.
We went for the opera night which is on a weekend but had to wait for our table, meaning we missed the first part of the opera. The restaurant didn't seem overly busy so we were a bit puzzled as to why we needed to wait. We were seated around 20 minutes after our booked time. Once we were seated, we waited again for menus but after 10 minutes of nothing we had to ask a waitress for them.
The food arrived quickly after ordering but the starter and mains all came at once which was unexpected. The meals were lovely as previously and the opera was amazing but we felt the experience didn't match up to our previous experience and we would think twice about returning again which is a real shame.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer kiwimrsmac
7/09/2012
Lovely atmosphere, although a slightly cavernous feel. The tables were placed a good distance apart (which is hard to find in Auckland). The meal portions were great. And the service was excellent - not intrusive, nor overbearing. The perfect level of quietly filling glasses, and checking that everything was ok.
I would recommend Toto restaurant to anyone.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer gabriela1
3/03/2010
had a really good night! The music is the best part. Good atmosphere
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.

Archive

View past user reviews for this venue/film.
 
Nearest

What's near Toto's Italian Restaurant?

Below are the nearest 5 venues within 500 metres of Toto's Italian Restaurant.
Cinemas near Toto's Italian Restaurant (0)

Most Read Today

image
01 Christmas Lights and Displays in Auckland

Enjoy Christmas in Auckland under the glow of fest...

image
02 Auckland's Best Playgrounds

The kids have spoken and we are pleased to present...

image
03 Auckland's Best Malls

Check out our picks of the top five malls in Auckl...

image
04 Auckland's Best Free Kids Activities

We check out the best five free kids activities in...

image
05 Auckland's Best Rooftop Bars

When Auckland's weather allows, enjoy a few coldie...

Content updated: 20/12/2014 09:59
 

Restaurant Reviews

Get Onboard

Make It A Date

Connect

Latest Restaurants User Reviews

  • Soul Bar & Bistro
    Excellent food, location and ambience. Service was a little slow ...

    Gautam on 19/12/2014 @ 8:16 p.m.
  • Misters
    I have been frequenting Misters for a few weeks now. I wanted to ...

    Georgina28 on 19/12/2014 @ 1:26 p.m.
  • Hardware Cafe (The)
    I was in a hurry and bought a wrap/foldover thingy. There was no ...

    punkingirl on 18/12/2014 @ 10:44 p.m.
  • Narm Thong Thai Restaurant
    Best Thai in Auckland, we have tried several others but keep goin...

    seen on 18/12/2014 @ 3:15 p.m.
  • Chop Chop Noodle House
    The food here is ok, I wouldn't rave about it. Had the pork stea...

    HRoughan on 18/12/2014 @ 12:16 p.m.
Hitwise Award Winner