The Grove

Our rating 

User rating 

7 reviews
Venue Image
St Patricks Square, Wyndham Street,
Auckland Central
Auckland,
1010

(09) 368 4129

Add a User Review for

The Grove
Add user review button
Add your own review of this restaurant

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
4/09/2012
Visited recently for the Auckland restaurant month event, $250 to be served food an drink found in Le Gavroche which is a 3 Michelin star restaurant in London. Monica Galetti is the senior sous chef there and also a judge on Masterchef the Professionals UK.
The Grove hosted the event and they did an amazing job, bubbles on arrival followed by excellent service to really highlight Monica's food.

There were countless highlights throughout the night, the ones that stick in my mind was the sauce with the oysters that literally had everyone in the restaurant wanting to lick their plates, the duck consomme was rich, smooth and perfectly executed. the octopus dish was controversial yet rich and delicious and finally the chocolate dessert which is currently on Le Gavroche menu was just superb.

A great night and wonderful to speak to the bubbly chef at the end who clearly loves what she does.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Chrisl
15/06/2012
Haven't been to The Grove for ages. This place has never let us down. Fantastic food with well recommended wine to match. Thank you to The Grove for a special occasion made great.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
29/11/2011
It's not often you get the excuse to eat at a restaurant like The Grove. So when the opportunity came along because......it was Tuesday (not an excuse really I know) I couldn't say no.
Now The Grove has been a restaurant I have wanted to visit for a long time and I just never have. I was biased going in because I simply expected to be impressed. This is mainly due to the fact that I have eaten from various festivals where The Grove have attended.

The negative to begin with was we booked last minute so couldn't have the Grove's degustation menu due to a table only being available for a short time.

Anyway the service was immaculate and there wasn't a single detail missed out by our waiter who pointed out everything down to where the fish came from and what time it arrived!

On to the menu, the entrees, mains and desserts are all set prices per course which then leads onto something that grates on me....surcharge. All dishes are the same price unless we stick an extra $5-10 on top is basically what this says to me.

This aside I had a pheasant and quail terrine followed by an assiette of free range pork and my dinning partner had a radicchio salad for entree and goats cheese tortellini for main. All dishes show an awful lot of skill with precision shown particularly in the balance of the terrine and its layers of quail, pheasant and foie gras. The foie gras part being excellent against an otherwise slightly bland terrine.
The pork dish was so full of flavour and the loin was the absolute standout being incredibly tender and melting on the tongue. My dining partner enjoyed her dishes and commented on the freshness of each dish including the very soft pasta.

Next we were aloud to share a dessert degustation which was the equivalent of 3.5 full desserts! The standout was the chocolate course which was the best dessert I've had in NZ, rich chocolate balanced out with a beautiful mandarin sorbet.

Overall just about as good as I had expected!
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Fish
8/06/2011
I had expected more from The Grove. The service was great and the food looked amazing, but I was underwhelmed by the taste. Food was fairly bland, and I have eaten at muht better places than The Grove for the price.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer AndyWilkinson
1/06/2011
We have used The Grove for three consecutive years for our media lunch to launch our new vintages of Misha's Vineyard Wines and have had spectacular food and service every time. I rate The Grove as my "Top Choice" in Auckland and congratulate Michael & Annette Dearth, and Chef Ben Bayly on winning their well deserved recent awards.

Andy Wilkinson
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer PipBarling
20/04/2011
The Grove rocks - great service, the New Zealand cuisine menu offers exactly what you'd expect from one of Auckland's top restaurants.

I think we've eaten there three times over the past 12 months and no doubt will be going again soon. Definitely recommended.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Louie
16/06/2010
Amazing food - The Grove is well worth visiting. I had the express lunch which was great value at $55. Started with seared tuna and John Dory for the main. We ordered the fries with truffle oil as they looked so good on the next door table - and tasted better than they looked!! The Kumeu chardonnay went down really well as did the tasty petit fours and strong coffee. Will be visiting The Grove again shortly.
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
 

Most Read Today

image
01 Get Your Skates on this Winter!

Paradice presents Aotea Square Ice Rink with a NEW...

image
02 List With Us!

Get your venue or event listed with View New Zeala...

image
03 Auckland's Best Outlet Shops

We check out the five best spots for outlet shoppi...

image
04 Auckland's Best Free Kids Activities

We check out the best five free kids activities in...

image
05 Celebrity Interviews

From hollywood legends to new kids on the block, r...

Content updated: 25/07/2014 00:21
 

Hungry?

Restaurant Reviews

Get Onboard

Make It A Date

Connect

Latest Restaurants User Reviews

  • Mexico Takapuna
    I've been to Takapuna's Mexico more times than I care to remember...

    gretchen294 on 24/07/2014 @ 9:31 p.m.
  • Jade Dragon
    Took the kids and inlaws along to a yum char on Sunday. First tim...

    Leaguelova on 21/07/2014 @ 12:14 p.m.
  • Alfrescos Cafe & Caterers
    Great place and lovely staff :) can't wait to come back

    tmak021 on 21/07/2014 @ 9:05 a.m.
  • Cafe Viet
    We had an impromptu dinner at Cafe Viet last week. It was early ...

    Louie on 20/07/2014 @ 9:18 p.m.
  • Gusto at the Grand
    after seeing the $29 lunch offer advertised on this site I was pr...

    21gunsalute on 18/07/2014 @ 4:08 p.m.
Hitwise Award Winner