The Engine Room

Our rating 

User rating 

20 reviews
Venue Image
115 Queen Street,
Northcote Point
Auckland,
0620

(09) 480 9502

Add a User Review for

The Engine Room
Add user review button
Add your own review of this restaurant

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer JanetDaniels
30/06/2013
Husband and I went to ER last night, after planning to do so for ages - was surprised to get a table when I called three days earlier! I understood it to be the place that you needed to book well in advance. Entrees were good. I had read the reviews about the twice baked goats cheese souffle and I can't disagree: it was absolutely delicious. So far so good. Ordered snapper with chorizo and chick peas, was a bit surprised to learn that there was no actual chorizo, but admittedly could taste smoked paprika; I was disappointed that there wasn't that added texture that would have worked so well with the dish. When I enquired, the chef and the waiter both said they take chorizo and mince it or do something with it so only its flavour is in the dish. The seafood in there was still translucent, too, slippery in the mouth, with a texture like oyster - I mentioned this aswell and for both comments the staff metaphorically shrugged their shoulders, probably decided I didn't know what I was talking about and left me sitting there, deciding whether to eat the snapper (which was cooked really well) or to leave the lot. When further enquiries were made to our table about my problems with the dish, the owner (I assume) sneered as she said they cook the seafood until the shell opens - that's how it is done. OK I understand, that's the textbook way to tell if it's cooked, but don't chefs use their skill and judgement? Again she reinforced the arrogant attitude that the Engine Room has about its rave reviews. The dumb customer to my right loudly exclaimed, mid-way through 'my discussions' with the staff "I've just had a big piece of chorizo"!! What calibre of diners!! I expect it might have been a rogue piece of chorizo that escaped the mincer plate. We were asked if we wanted anything else. We said thanks but no thanks, and approached the till to pay. Owner(I assume) refused to let us pay and told us never to come back. Temperature outdoors was positively balmy in comparison.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Louie
3/02/2013
The Engine Room lived up to my high expectations at a recent visit. The service was exceptional as was the food and accompanying wine. I enjoyed the goat's cheese souffle to start, followed by the chicken with green papaya salad and ended with some of the delicious home made truffles. My partner was kind enough to share the chocolate churros which lived up to their reputation. Can't wait to go back to the Engine Room.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer citykid
31/01/2013
a visit to the Engine Room has been on my partner's dining bucket list ever since she settled in Auckland so with baby-sitters organised, off we went to Northcote Point.
Wasn't too sure about the whole sitting thing - but we got there for the 6.30 sitting and it was pretty apparent that this was the place to be.
We were welcomed really nicely and taken to a table by the window - a good location to not only view the mouth-watering blackboard menu but also see the kitchen at work.
Our waiter was spot on and really helpful - top bloke too. He guided us around the menu really well and was forthcoming with the wine suggestions.
Had to go with the souffle (sorry mum, your souffles just don't bear thinking about in comparison) and then the steak as a main - both exceptional dishes. The meal was finished off with some hand-made truffles - just the ticket.
We both had plenty to drink and three courses each and the bill just came to over $200 - I thought this was great value for such an experience and can easily see why the Engine Room was one of those must do dining experiences - thanks guys - can't speak highly enough of the Engine Room experience.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer verite
22/01/2013
Love this place. Impeccable service, delicious, beautifully presented food. I can highly recommend the churros - they come with a full glass of chocolate to dip them into.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer nickier
5/10/2012
I really do like what they've got going at the Engine Room - and if you combine that with a movie at the Bridgeway just over the road, a really good night out and the perfect excuse to head to Northcote Point.
On our last visit I had the veal schnitzel and those rosti's...fantastic. My husbands lamb rump was pretty good to so there was a bit of food envy. We did share some dessert - the rhubarb tart with icecream is the perfect foil to winter and you cant go past the profiteroles - this is what eating out is all about.
Have bought the Engine Room book so here's hoping I can do it justice - probably another excuse to return there and do some background 'research'!
User icon
StarNo StarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer RS6dad
12/08/2012
After dining at so many restaurants around Auckland & the world but hearing so much about the Engine Room my business partner invited us along on Saturday night to what she thought was to be a great evening at a top restaurant.
The service was below average and extremely disappointing, with an intrusive waiter who didn't listen to what we wanted and to top things off food which was absolutely horrible.
There is no way this restaurant comes close to being a fine dinning experience and i can speak for us all in saying that we were totally underwhelmed by the experience.
High prices with very very poor below average food.

I will not be recommending the Engine Room restaurant to anyone in the future.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
26/04/2012
The Engine Room is one of my favourite special occasion places. The service is very attentive (without being too much) and the food is just delicious. The schnitzel is one of my favourite meals, and I must admit I haven't tried any other mains (apart from having a bite of someone elses), because I always order it! I recently tried the twice baked goats cheese souffle after hearing so much about it in various publications, and it did not disappoint - so tasty and a beautiful texture. I didn't have room for dessert after the entree and main, but they are very good and the churros some of the best I've tried. Be aware that there are two sittings each night. You don't feel rushed at all, but it isn't really the kind of place you spend a whole evening at.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer KARYN284
26/04/2012
I went to The Food Show in Auckland 2yrs ago & was lucky to hear Peta Mathias talk about her travels. When someone asked her what was her favourite place to dine in Auckland was she replied "The Engine Room". She is a real food traveller & knows her stuff. I was lucky enough to be taken to The Engine Room last November for my 40th birthday. It was by far one birthday I'll never forget!!! The food totally blew me away. The atmosphere and service was fantastic. They soooooo deserve an award. Well Done!!!!
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.

Archive

View past user reviews for this venue/film.
 
Nearest

What's near The Engine Room?

Below are the nearest 5 venues within 500 metres of The Engine Room.

Most Read Today

image
01 Auckland's Best Free Kids Activities

We check out the best five free kids activities in...

image
02 List With Us!

Get your venue or event listed with View New Zeala...

image
03 Auckland's Best Malls

Check out our picks of the top five malls in Auckl...

image
04 Auckland's Best Playgrounds

The kids have spoken and we are pleased to present...

image
05 Auckland Hot 5 - April 2014

We guide you through the highlights to be had this...

Content updated: 21/04/2014 19:41
 

Restaurant Reviews

Get Onboard

Make It A Date

Connect

Latest Restaurants User Reviews

  • Waterfront Cafe
    My partner and I have passed this place hundreds of times and hav...

    Brett Taylor on 21/04/2014 @ 2:42 p.m.
  • Chevalier Point Cafe & Catering
    This little cafe is just a short stroll to Pt Chevalier Beach wit...

    Lesley_LocalHero on 20/04/2014 @ 1:05 p.m.
  • Cafe Hung Viet
    Enjoyed a lovely meal here with friends mid-week where the food w...

    janetmatthews on 20/04/2014 @ 7:53 a.m.
  • The Dutch East Indies Cafe
    The worst restaurant I have ever been in. Very disappointed as I ...

    Mionlemmens on 19/04/2014 @ 10:04 p.m.
  • Avenue 47 Cafe
    Best coffee in Birkenhead

    kat4al on 18/04/2014 @ 3:02 p.m.
Hitwise Award Winner