Swashbucklers Restaurant

User rating 

7 reviews
Venue Image
23B Westhaven Drive,
Westhaven
Auckland,


(09) 307 5979

Add a User Review for

Swashbucklers Restaurant
Add user review button
Add your own review of this restaurant

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarNo StarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Critic13
12/12/2012
My experience at swashbucklers was not a particularly pleasant one, for a start the staff were not great they seemed as though they didn't want to be there and never had a smile on their face, secondly the food was, well to be blunt rather cheap and nasty I had the seafood marinara and it came out looking alright but as I started to eat it I rather quickly realized it tasted far below par, the sauce was not very nice at all, there were two sad and sorry looking and tasting prawns, the pasta itself was very bland and not very nice at all also the fish that was in with it tasted odd and after all that I found odd pieces of I edible prawn carcass and shell including the odd bundle of legs. The food the rest of my table got was also not very pleasing, the fish and chips were alright but nothing to rave about as was the children's fish. I believe it is nearly insulting that a person pay their overpriced dishes and then receive far below standard food and service. Lastly to top the night off we went to pay and the waitress asked how the food was and to this I commented that my meal was not very nice at all, to which she payed nearly no attention to!
I do not plan on ever returning to swashbucklers as over all it was not a nice experience all round.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
24/08/2012
Swashbucklers is located in quite a prime spot. Just out of town with plenty of parking, you've got nice views of the marina. The restaurant is quite laid back. Being a weeknight, the atmosphere was bustling but it was probably cause we were all seated together in a smaller area.

Service was friendly. Not outstanding but not bad either. The waitress did miss out one order of a side, but it was remedied fairly quickly.

I had the calamari and a side of veggies for dinner. Calamari was just alright, nothing fantastic. It was slightly under-seasoned but nothing a bit of tomato sauce couldn't help, I suppose. Halfway through my meal, I did get a really funny flavour from a piece of calamari or two.

The veggies were just veggies. There was a thick cheese sauce that was served with it, but the veggies itself were bland. Roast potatoes that were incorporated in the dish were pretty good though. The stand out dish of the evening were the chips. $6.00 for a humongous basket of chips.

Food here is generally quite expensive. You do get decent portions, but for e.g., the fish comes, as is, with nothing else on the plate. I just think that's a bit pitiful.

Overall, an average meal with the standouts being the potatoes, both friend and baked. My evening did end up with me running to the loo a couple of times. But benefit of doubt given, I can't be entirely sure it was cause of the meal at Swashbucklers.

Overall, they could do better. I don't think I'd be back. It's a pity, it's a nice location.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer tahlulah
26/04/2012
Went to Swashbucklers the other night for a friends birthday celebration.

Restaurant was packed but still received prompt service and did not wait long for our meals at all considering there was two tables of us - roughly 20 people.

I shared an entree of Calamari with my friend sitting in front of me. Was plenty on the plate and cooked to perfection - we opted for the added garlic which was a good choice.

For my main I had the Steak Bearnaise - again cooked to perfection. The Bernaise sauce was divine and I ate every morsel.

The only thing on the downside was the sides. The vegetables came with a lot of sauce on them and the fries were too big. Sometimes its nice to just have all the food arrive on one plate.

But i will definately return in the not too distant future!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer lawstein4
5/09/2011
Stopped in randomly to have some lunch and was very surprised by the portion sizes. Huge plates of food, much bigger than expected. Swashbucklers is a great place to go if there's a group of you because the portions are so big it's easy to share. The service was friendly but there was a bit of a wait for the food (must be the huge plates!). Also the steak was a little over cooked but a small complaint for a good experience.
User icon
StarNo StarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Fiona560
8/02/2008
Went to Swashbucklers Restaurant for dinner and we had shrimp cocktail and calamari for entree - calamari was overcooked and bland. Then we ordered the seafood platter for 2 as our main. Mostly cold seafood, deep fried "processed" scallops, prawns overcooked - generally everything was horrible and not worth the money. When we went to pay, we were asked how our meal was and I gave some feedback - to which I received a 'not particularly interested' response. Definitely will not be going back.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Emma Jackson
25/03/2006
A group of ten of us went to Swashbucklers Restaurant for a farewell lunch yesterday. With a name like Swashbucklers, I have to be honest and say I was expecting the worst - gimmicky at best, cheesey at worst. I am pleased to say Swashbucklers Restaurant was neither!


We were promptly served - I went for the salmon salad; smoked salmon rolled with lovely fresh salad greens. It was good, however, the lime vinagarette was more of a lemon vinagarette.


The seafood platters were nice - big, fresh and well presented, which I eyed up enviously after ordering my meal!
At $17 the salmon salad wasn't too bad, but it was one of the cheapest optons on the menu.


I'm likely to go again - next time may go for the good old kiwi 'fush n chups'.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Anonymous
4/10/2005
Went with a group of friends, had a drink (or two!) at the bar first then went through to the restaurant, good food and staff very friendly, a nice enjoyable evening.
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
 

Most Read Today

image
01 Get Your Skates on this Winter!

Paradice presents Aotea Square Ice Rink with a NEW...

image
02 List With Us!

Get your venue or event listed with View New Zeala...

image
03 Auckland's Best Outlet Shops

We check out the five best spots for outlet shoppi...

image
04 Auckland's Best Free Kids Activities

We check out the best five free kids activities in...

image
05 Celebrity Interviews

From hollywood legends to new kids on the block, r...

Content updated: 25/07/2014 03:25
 

Hungry?

Restaurant Reviews

Get Onboard

Make It A Date

Connect

Latest Restaurants User Reviews

  • Mexico Takapuna
    I've been to Takapuna's Mexico more times than I care to remember...

    gretchen294 on 24/07/2014 @ 9:31 p.m.
  • Jade Dragon
    Took the kids and inlaws along to a yum char on Sunday. First tim...

    Leaguelova on 21/07/2014 @ 12:14 p.m.
  • Alfrescos Cafe & Caterers
    Great place and lovely staff :) can't wait to come back

    tmak021 on 21/07/2014 @ 9:05 a.m.
  • Cafe Viet
    We had an impromptu dinner at Cafe Viet last week. It was early ...

    Louie on 20/07/2014 @ 9:18 p.m.
  • Gusto at the Grand
    after seeing the $29 lunch offer advertised on this site I was pr...

    21gunsalute on 18/07/2014 @ 4:08 p.m.
Hitwise Award Winner