Stripe Cafe

User rating 

10 reviews
Venue Image
521 Titirangi Road,
Titirangi
Auckland,
0604

(09) 817 9794

Add a User Review for

Stripe Cafe
Add user review button
Add your own review of this restaurant

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarNo StarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer 89lloyd
10/07/2013
I would love to give this café a better rating but simply cannot. I read the great reviews before going there as we had to farewell friends living in the Titirangi area and I come all the way from Bucklands Beach. The food was of a great standard and the staff were more than friendly with a great little environment and heating. However the place is not child-friendly - being seated right in front of the counter finding it difficult to hear one another and having to keep getting out of the much higher adult seats to adjust the baby's position in the Stripe Café provided baby seat - the baby's head was at table height. The next part is far worse: MY MATE FOUND A TINY PIECE OF GLASS IN HIS MOCHA!!!!!!! He returned it as it was his 1st sip and they gave him a new one and apologized. I am sorry but even if this place had a 2 star average rating it WOULD under no circumstances be acceptable to find glass in any consumable product. Is just pathetic and I felt ashamed that I had suggested we go there.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Anonymous
7/07/2013
LOVE this cafe. I live on the Shore but make the trip across for the fab food, great coffee and AWESOME staff! The owner is super friendly and welcoming and they have a gorgeous outdoor area which is like a little haven of serenity....amazing rustic outdoor tables too - would be great for a summer evening banquet or private dinner.Food all created on the premises and chef even makes giant 'cupcake cakes' to order. A great birthday treat perhaps for a little princess?Family friendly venue with awesome brunch menu. HIGHLY recommend Stripe Cafe.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer JuliaD
6/04/2013
Have visited Stripe for my 3rd time and yet again have been highly impressed (and I am a fussy diner).

The food is consistently amazing, no matter what I or people I dine with have, we are always impressed with presentation, portion size and flavour. Good variety on the menu, too.

The staff are really friendly, especially the young guy - what a lovely smile!

It is a fantastic setting, great atmosphere, little nooks to sit in or general outside and inside seating.

Definitely the best cafe in Titirangi, if not the whole of the west!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer pdaddyaucks
18/03/2013
Yep, I've been to Stripe Cafe, 2 times now, had the equiv of eggs bene. wonderful. I drove all the way from the shore to go to Titirangi just to go to Stripe. Domenica Houlihan is wonderful, she is on TVNZ's Good Morning show and a celebrity chef at the Food Show also so you know you're in good hands. The staff are attentive and friendly, the food great and I totally recommend.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Trinculo
17/03/2013
We organised a dinner party for around 25 people at Stripe Cafe after discovering by fortunate accident that they now offer private functions for small groups. Domenica, the owner, was very friendly and helpful, and more than ready to accommodate our budget and requirements in a tailored set menu. We settled on a menu for a buffet-style dinner and dessert, although we also had the option of a banquet/ 'shared plates in the middle of the table' style meal. The food was amazing - there was heaps of it (cue groaning stomachs and requests for doggy bags!), the flavours and presentation were beautiful, and it was 'special' while being value for money. Lovely attention to detail and little extras like fruit punch as a non-alcoholic option. The venue itself was great for the casual, relaxed gathering we were after, and the service was welcoming, friendly and efficient. The cafe is licensed until 10pm, though I'm sure that a number of us would have happily stayed for quite a bit longer! We really couldn't have asked for a better place to have our special party :)
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer gina13
12/03/2013
This cafe has a relaxing courtyard surrounded with native plants that is perfect any time of the day. I really like the regular staff who work here (sorry don’t know their names) but the guy is really nice and remembers what we order and always seems pleased to see us. Great coffee and fast service. Food is always served the way you like it if you have a preference (ie my mum has a thing for hard poached eggs). Also recommend the blackberry and ginger tea <3
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer ARWilson
7/02/2013
We had heard good things about Stripe Café and one of our group had already lunched there so that was our destination. The café is attractive/casual and we were promptly seated, given menus and water. Our meals arrived in a reasonable time and the beetroot salads which 3 of us had, were delicious. The pork and water melon salads were disappointing - mainly a huge pile of melon with some mysterious "pork" things.
Once we had finished our meals we became invisible (5 of us) as we sat staring at empty plates for 25 minutes. As one of our group had to get to the airport we went to the counter and asked if we could order coffee and have our plates taken away and we were told that this would be done as soon as they had time! When the coffee arrived, it was excellent but the very erratic service rather spoilt the whole experience.
Anne Wilson.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Domenica
12/02/2013
Dear Anne,
Thank you for your feedback about my cafe.
Needless to say I am shocked at the service you recieved and have called an immediate action meeting.
I cannot believe you sat there for 25 minutes staring at empty plates, even if we were flat out there is no excuse for that and I apologise profusely for that, as I (as a customer) hate sitting at a table with plates once I am finished.
I am saddened at your words regarding the service as we pride ourselves on great/friendly service, I train my staff and only employ wonderful people who are genuinely very good at thier job, I don't know what went wrong on the day you visited.
As for the food, again I am upset that you didn't enjoy the pork, watermelon salad as the chef/owner I make sure that the food is of the highest quality and perfectly rounded flavours, possibly we could have given more wording to how the pork would be presented, it is shredded fried pork, and I'm sorry you didn't enjoy it.
I would love a chance to make this up tou you and you are more than welcome to come to stripe cafe for a free meal and coffee and chat, come and make yourself known to me.
Look forward to hearing from you
Domenica


- Report
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Lvawdrey
13/12/2012
As a regular of Stripe I have never been disappointed.
Therefore it wasn't hard to decide where to take my staff for our end of year lunch. As an industry insider I have an eye for detail, high expectation of customer service, the highest quality in food from ingredients to delivery and a sharp eye on hygiene,well done Stripe Faultless

Lorraine Vawdrey
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.

Archive

View past user reviews for this venue/film.
 
Nearest

What's near Stripe Cafe?

Below are the nearest 5 venues within 500 metres of Stripe Cafe.
Cinemas near Stripe Cafe (0)

Most Read Today

image
01 List With Us!

Get your venue or event listed with View New Zeala...

image
02 Auckland's Best Playgrounds

The kids have spoken and we are pleased to present...

image
03 Auckland's Best Malls

Check out our picks of the top five malls in Auckl...

image
04 Easter Holiday Fun

Our guide to things to do in Auckland with kids th...

image
05 Auckland's Best Free Kids Activities

We check out the best five free kids activities in...

Content updated: 20/04/2014 08:18
 

Restaurant Reviews

Get Onboard

Make It A Date

Connect

Latest Restaurants User Reviews

  • Cafe Hung Viet
    Enjoyed a lovely meal here with friends mid-week where the food w...

    janetmatthews on 20/04/2014 @ 7:53 a.m.
  • The Dutch East Indies Cafe
    The worst restaurant I have ever been in. Very disappointed as I ...

    Mionlemmens on 19/04/2014 @ 10:04 p.m.
  • Avenue 47 Cafe
    Best coffee in Birkenhead

    kat4al on 18/04/2014 @ 3:02 p.m.
  • Mexico Ellerslie
    One of the worst customer service experiences in Ellerslie Mexico...

    Mei888 on 17/04/2014 @ 10:34 p.m.
  • Hinemoa Street Organic Cafe
    Hinemoa Street Organic Café is great for brunch or meeting friend...

    Terri_LocalHero on 17/04/2014 @ 1:08 p.m.
Hitwise Award Winner