Sails Restaurant

User rating 

10 reviews
Venue Image
Westhaven Marina,
103-113 Westhaven Drive,
Westhaven
Auckland,
1144

(09) 378 9890

Add a User Review for

Sails Restaurant
Add user review button
Add your own review of this restaurant

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer wishingwell
20/02/2014
Sails offers fine dining with great views and free parking outside the door
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
20/10/2013
Walking up the stairs and entering the large, airy dining room was nothing short of breathtaking. Huge lampshades hang dramatically in the softly lit space of a sprawling 100-seat dining room. A wall of windows offers uninterrupted views of the marina and the magnificent arch of yellow lights from our city's harbour bridge.

This has to be one of Auckland's premium restaurant locations.
There's a consistency and maturity in the dining room service that is reassuring and informative although I found one Waiter to be a little curt.

Another great gift of a restaurant of this size is that there's a bar area where you can enjoy a pre-dinner drink before being taken to your table. I like this - it adds to the sense of occasion.

We were on a set menu via a voucher which was excellent value. For my Entree I had Freedom Farm Pork belly on a mash with a delicious Jus and wilted spinach.

For my main I had a pan fried Snapper with scallops and cauliflower puree. Very moist and succulent.

For Dessert I chose Pavlova with a Passionfruit curd. Simple, perfectly cooked and tasty.

The only bad thing I could say about my experience at Sails is that the lady at the counter when we settled our bill was rude at the knowledge of 10 of us spliting the bill. It was not a problem at the time of my booking but somehow this woman found it all too difficult.

Overall Sails is like the classic little black dress - full of understated glamour and style that never goes out of fashion.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer wishingwell
17/01/2013
This restaurant is superb in every way the menu ,service and view are unbeatable and to top it off plenty of free parking outside the door I cannot wait to eat there again very soon.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer KatieR
4/10/2012
Went here on a grab-one voucher, but the deal is fraudulent. They clearly had a separate menu for the price, but it wasn't good value!
Firstly, the service on the phone was rude. While the service by our waiter was good, the voucher meant you didn't get to sit by the window even on a slow night. Since the view is the best feature, it lost something.
Secondly, the food was variable in quality, and some of the dishes just didn't work.
The lobster bisque was lovely, but there was no bread. We were charged extra for hard, chewy, overcooked bread rolls.
The salmon dish was awful. They paired raw marinated salmon with lime sorbet, and it did not go.
The duck was lovely, but no vegetables so we were grateful we didn't order the matched wine, as we would not have been able to eat it without something other than protein in our stomach.
The lamb was nice, but hardly any vegetables.
The dessert was very mediocre. I expect more than a very ordinary mousse in a tiny serving.
I think they pigeonhole you as a grab-one customer, and assume you will not be back, However, they are right in one respect- I will not be back for pretentious service backed up with mediocre food and poor decor. I eat out every week, but will give this one a miss!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer leannejames
12/02/2011
Last night was the 7th time ive dined at Sails and I had to write a review to say that the food was the best ive had yet. We turned up without a booking on Friday night, and were given a great table for two.
We both ordered the Twice roasted half duck for our main. I can honestly say it was the best roast duck ive ever eaten and the portion was very generous. I finished it feeling satisfied in every way, having had all my expectations met. I ordered the Belgium Chocolate Delice, which was one of the yummiest deserts i have ever had. The chocolate mousse was a taste sensation and the accompaniments were well matched. A chocolate lovers ideal desert. My husband had the creme brulee, which he said was one of the nicest he has ever had.

I want to go back tonight!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
19/11/2010
I loved this restaurant! Brilliant location and great food. The service was also terrific. I will definately go back
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Gembo
25/03/2010
Yeah it was nice but I have definately had nicer, esp given the prices and being a top-end restaurant. Tuesday night was dead, though service was great. Would try other places before returning here.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer JohnB
19/03/2010
We frequently eat at top restaurants both in NZ and overseas, so we know what makes a good restaurant.
I have been a regular at Sails for a number of years, eating there an average of twice a month. We have a few others in Auckland that we would visit regularly (Meredith's, Cibo, Molly's etc) but we regularly come back to Sails.
What sets them apart is the location (overlooking the marina) and their service (they have very experiences and loyal staff). The food list isn't extensive but apart from a few dishes I can think of which were tried and quickly went the dishes are great.
If you have guests Sails is a very safe bet - they don't have 'off nights' They have good parking and you can wander past the boats.
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.

Archive

View past user reviews for this venue/film.
 
Nearest

What's near Sails Restaurant?

Below are the nearest 5 venues within 500 metres of Sails Restaurant.
Pubs & Bars near Sails Restaurant (0)
Cinemas near Sails Restaurant (0)

Most Read Today

image
01 List With Us!

Get your venue or event listed with View New Zeala...

image
02 Auckland's Best Free Kids Activities

We check out the best five free kids activities in...

image
03 Auckland's Best Playgrounds

The kids have spoken and we are pleased to present...

image
04 Easter Holiday Fun

Our guide to things to do in Auckland with kids th...

image
05 Auckland's Best Swimming Pools

We have a look at five heated swimming pool comple...

Content updated: 19/04/2014 11:21
 

Restaurant Reviews

Get Onboard

Make It A Date

Connect

Latest Restaurants User Reviews

  • Avenue 47 Cafe
    Best coffee in Birkenhead

    kat4al on 18/04/2014 @ 3:02 p.m.
  • Mexico Ellerslie
    One of the worst customer service experiences in Ellerslie Mexico...

    Mei888 on 17/04/2014 @ 10:34 p.m.
  • Hinemoa Street Organic Cafe
    Hinemoa Street Organic Café is great for brunch or meeting friend...

    Terri_LocalHero on 17/04/2014 @ 1:08 p.m.
  • Altura Cafe & Roastery
    Altura Café and Roastery is one of my GO to cafes because they do...

    Terri_LocalHero on 17/04/2014 @ 1:00 p.m.
  • Shore Rd Cafe
    Not normally out this way but was meeting a friend here. Shore Rd...

    Terri_LocalHero on 17/04/2014 @ 12:53 p.m.
Hitwise Award Winner