Mexico Takapuna

User rating 

15 reviews
Venue Image
21 Hurstmere Road,
Takapuna
Auckland,
0622

(09) 280 1487

Add a User Review for

Mexico Takapuna
Add user review button
Add your own review of this restaurant

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer mikekt
26/03/2014
Had a late lunch at Mexico in takapuna over the weekend and although the service was a bit poor ( just try to get a member of staff over- impossible), glad that the food made up for this.
The huffed taco was awesome ( prawn, fish, radish even) and the quesadillas were just the ticket. Good to see a decent amount of Mexican beers too - and for 2 of us with beers and food on board, to walk away with only a $60 dent in our pockets, then that's all good as far as I'm concerned. Guys- just sort out the service- not cool from the too cool for school.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer StrayDogNZ
7/12/2013
Delicious variety of tapa style Mexican dishes - weal ways try something new and have never been disappointed! Be adventurous - you won't regret it. Great location and the interior decor is very cool. I recommend the fish tacos!
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
9/06/2013
It seems we have an insatiable appetite for Mexican cuisine right now. Diners are re-discovering this cuisine in a whole new & fresh way.

The space is scrumptious in its own rustic, colourful, cluttered way with walls adorned. It bursts with all the energy and vibrancy of a backyard fiesta in Mexico.

We were sat at long skinny tables with bench seats upstairs (one of three), which uis where the party starts by offering tequilas and margaritas.

We had the set sharing menu which was a constant buffet of most of the offerings of their regular menu – Salsa with corn chips, pickled veges, cumin spiced patatas bravas, stuffed olives, Tostiditas, fried chicken (apparently the highlight but I never got to try this as it was a hit going by the mystery of its disapperance), empanada's. My favourite was the lime splashed cerviche with avocado. Lastly we had our own soft shell taco in which I chose Smokey beef arrachera.

Mexico might be famous for the margaritas because I think the food although plenty may have taken 2nd fiddle.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
5/05/2013
Great setting (on a sunny day), attentive staff and delicious food...my only problem with Mexico Takapuna are the portion sizes...absolutely meagre.
Caught up with a mate over lunch the other day and thought I'd get the fried chicken.. four small tenders arrived...all for the princely sum of $12! Ok - so they were tasty but for $12, c'mon! Had to order a soft-shell taco just to keep from falling over.
Like I said - flavours are good but if you're hungry, it's going to take a decent amount of ordering to get you satisfied.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer kilmartin
17/01/2013
Been here twice, first time was really good (although it was extremely busy, the service was fast and the food very enjoyable). Especially recommend the quesadillas and the beetroot dip.
The second time was disappointing - not very busy but service was appalling slow. Also the food was only average - the food lacking in the fresh flavours of the first time. We also had Churros which were too oily tasting for my liking (it's a dessert but you it tasted a bit like old fish & chip shop oil).
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer nickier
20/12/2012
I've now been to Mexico in Takapuna four times in the last 2 or so months and I've been consistently pleased with the overall experience so compelled to write this review.
Although swift, the service is friendly (and VERY attractive) - this all adds to the appeal of Mexico.
Most recently I had the beetroot salad as well as the chicken - the right combination of flavours and heat in my opinion. Having Mexican beer (Dos Equis etc) on the menu also adds to this restaurants authenticity.
Mexican must have been the cuisine of the year in Auckland - and Mexico is leading the charge.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer jessie55
15/11/2012
The tequila was aplenty, customer service extremely lacking.

Having arrived for lunch at 1 pm, I was told a table would be available in 5 minutes, my friend and I sat waiting for 15 minutes before I saw the maitre d seat another 2 couples as soon as they walked in the door!
I spoke up and was greeted with the most disgusting face I have ever seen, I was looked at as if I didn't belong and had spoken out of turn (like a school child!), the Maitre d look at the waitresses as if she was confused to hear that I was even waiting for a table! As if I was standing in the door way because I wanted to!
The food was no where near enough for me to even think of returning.

User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
9/11/2012
Dropped into the much talked about Mexico for a lunch one Sunday. Was told that it would be easier to get a seat at the Takapuna branch. The place was busy but not packed when I arrived. Got seated pretty quickly. It's set up with long tables (canteen style) so you may have to share tables with other diners. So don't expect that you'll necessarily get a table to yourself.

We had quite a selection of food that day. Admittedly, I'm no aficionado of Mexican food. Food was overall well presented and ingredients, fresh. My favourite was the pork quesadilla, apart from that, everything else was alright. Nothing I would shout about though.

Ordered a sangria which was not the best choice as I didn't like it at all. There weren't any fruits in the sangria. Maybe I should have stuck to something tequila seeing that it's a tequila bar -- oops. Wasn't up to drinking something heavy that day though.

Overall, service was average. It was quite difficult to get the wait-staff's attention at times. Also, we were given side plates (as we were sharing food) which were not very clean and had crumbs of food in them. I think they need to improve on their dish-washing as a knife was supplied with food scraps stuck it as well.

What I'll return for? Their quesadilla and to sample the tequila. Otherwise, an alright experience.
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.

Archive

View past user reviews for this venue/film.
 

Most Read Today

image
01 List With Us!

Get your venue or event listed with View New Zeala...

image
02 Auckland's Best Outlet Shops

We check out the five best spots for outlet shoppi...

image
03 Auckland's Best Malls

Check out our picks of the top five malls in Auckl...

image
04 Auckland's Best Free Kids Activities

We check out the best five free kids activities in...

image
05 Auckland's Best Playgrounds

The kids have spoken and we are pleased to present...

Content updated: 23/04/2014 20:46
 

Restaurant Reviews

Get Onboard

Make It A Date

Connect

Latest Restaurants User Reviews

  • The Engine Room
    We went to the Engine Room when it first opened to rave reviews a...

    Terri_LocalHero on 22/04/2014 @ 11:27 a.m.
  • Revive!
    I love Revive! It has fabulous vegetarian meals - salads, dahl, c...

    Georgina28 on 21/04/2014 @ 9:43 p.m.
  • Espresso Workshop Britomart
    I went to Espresso Workshop late morning (about 11:30) with two f...

    Georgina28 on 21/04/2014 @ 9:36 p.m.
  • Waterfront Cafe
    My partner and I have passed this place hundreds of times and hav...

    Brett Taylor on 21/04/2014 @ 2:42 p.m.
  • Chevalier Point Cafe & Catering
    This little cafe is just a short stroll to Pt Chevalier Beach wit...

    Lesley_LocalHero on 20/04/2014 @ 1:05 p.m.
Hitwise Award Winner