Mexico Takapuna

User rating 

16 reviews
Venue Image
21 Hurstmere Road,
Takapuna
Auckland,
0622

(09) 280 1487

Add a User Review for

Mexico Takapuna
Add user review button
Add your own review of this restaurant

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer gretchen294
24/07/2014
I've been to Takapuna's Mexico more times than I care to remember and to be fair, most of the visits have been very good. My last few times however have been a little disappointing.
I can't complain about the food (infact, the special's board are often well worth checking out) - but the service is pretty slow - there always seems to be a group of about 3-4 just standing around trying to avoid eye contact with diners - it's pretty bizarre for a business in the hospitality trade. Like I say, it's really my only complaint as I do otherwise enjoy heading out to Mexico but some improvement wouldn't go amiss.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer mikekt
26/03/2014
Had a late lunch at Mexico in takapuna over the weekend and although the service was a bit poor ( just try to get a member of staff over- impossible), glad that the food made up for this.
The huffed taco was awesome ( prawn, fish, radish even) and the quesadillas were just the ticket. Good to see a decent amount of Mexican beers too - and for 2 of us with beers and food on board, to walk away with only a $60 dent in our pockets, then that's all good as far as I'm concerned. Guys- just sort out the service- not cool from the too cool for school.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer StrayDogNZ
7/12/2013
Delicious variety of tapa style Mexican dishes - weal ways try something new and have never been disappointed! Be adventurous - you won't regret it. Great location and the interior decor is very cool. I recommend the fish tacos!
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
9/06/2013
It seems we have an insatiable appetite for Mexican cuisine right now. Diners are re-discovering this cuisine in a whole new & fresh way.

The space is scrumptious in its own rustic, colourful, cluttered way with walls adorned. It bursts with all the energy and vibrancy of a backyard fiesta in Mexico.

We were sat at long skinny tables with bench seats upstairs (one of three), which uis where the party starts by offering tequilas and margaritas.

We had the set sharing menu which was a constant buffet of most of the offerings of their regular menu – Salsa with corn chips, pickled veges, cumin spiced patatas bravas, stuffed olives, Tostiditas, fried chicken (apparently the highlight but I never got to try this as it was a hit going by the mystery of its disapperance), empanada's. My favourite was the lime splashed cerviche with avocado. Lastly we had our own soft shell taco in which I chose Smokey beef arrachera.

Mexico might be famous for the margaritas because I think the food although plenty may have taken 2nd fiddle.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
5/05/2013
Great setting (on a sunny day), attentive staff and delicious food...my only problem with Mexico Takapuna are the portion sizes...absolutely meagre.
Caught up with a mate over lunch the other day and thought I'd get the fried chicken.. four small tenders arrived...all for the princely sum of $12! Ok - so they were tasty but for $12, c'mon! Had to order a soft-shell taco just to keep from falling over.
Like I said - flavours are good but if you're hungry, it's going to take a decent amount of ordering to get you satisfied.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer kilmartin
17/01/2013
Been here twice, first time was really good (although it was extremely busy, the service was fast and the food very enjoyable). Especially recommend the quesadillas and the beetroot dip.
The second time was disappointing - not very busy but service was appalling slow. Also the food was only average - the food lacking in the fresh flavours of the first time. We also had Churros which were too oily tasting for my liking (it's a dessert but you it tasted a bit like old fish & chip shop oil).
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer nickier
20/12/2012
I've now been to Mexico in Takapuna four times in the last 2 or so months and I've been consistently pleased with the overall experience so compelled to write this review.
Although swift, the service is friendly (and VERY attractive) - this all adds to the appeal of Mexico.
Most recently I had the beetroot salad as well as the chicken - the right combination of flavours and heat in my opinion. Having Mexican beer (Dos Equis etc) on the menu also adds to this restaurants authenticity.
Mexican must have been the cuisine of the year in Auckland - and Mexico is leading the charge.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer jessie55
15/11/2012
The tequila was aplenty, customer service extremely lacking.

Having arrived for lunch at 1 pm, I was told a table would be available in 5 minutes, my friend and I sat waiting for 15 minutes before I saw the maitre d seat another 2 couples as soon as they walked in the door!
I spoke up and was greeted with the most disgusting face I have ever seen, I was looked at as if I didn't belong and had spoken out of turn (like a school child!), the Maitre d look at the waitresses as if she was confused to hear that I was even waiting for a table! As if I was standing in the door way because I wanted to!
The food was no where near enough for me to even think of returning.

The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.

Archive

View past user reviews for this venue/film.
 

Most Read Today

image
01 Christmas Lights and Displays in Auckland

Enjoy Christmas in Auckland under the glow of fest...

image
02 Auckland's Best Playgrounds

The kids have spoken and we are pleased to present...

image
03 Auckland's Best Malls

Check out our picks of the top five malls in Auckl...

image
04 Auckland's Best Free Kids Activities

We check out the best five free kids activities in...

image
05 Auckland's Best Rooftop Bars

When Auckland's weather allows, enjoy a few coldie...

Content updated: 20/12/2014 01:11
 

Restaurant Reviews

Get Onboard

Make It A Date

Connect

Latest Restaurants User Reviews

  • Soul Bar & Bistro
    Excellent food, location and ambience. Service was a little slow ...

    Gautam on 19/12/2014 @ 8:16 p.m.
  • Misters
    I have been frequenting Misters for a few weeks now. I wanted to ...

    Georgina28 on 19/12/2014 @ 1:26 p.m.
  • Hardware Cafe (The)
    I was in a hurry and bought a wrap/foldover thingy. There was no ...

    punkingirl on 18/12/2014 @ 10:44 p.m.
  • Narm Thong Thai Restaurant
    Best Thai in Auckland, we have tried several others but keep goin...

    seen on 18/12/2014 @ 3:15 p.m.
  • Chop Chop Noodle House
    The food here is ok, I wouldn't rave about it. Had the pork stea...

    HRoughan on 18/12/2014 @ 12:16 p.m.
Hitwise Award Winner