FISH

User rating 

8 reviews
Venue Image
Level 1,
147 Quay Street,
Princes Wharf,
Auckland Central
Auckland,
1010

(09) 978 2020

Add a User Review for

FISH
Add user review button
Add your own review of this restaurant

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
15/09/2013
Booked into Fish reasonably late on a Saturday, quite suprising that we got offered anytime we liked considering its a fine dining restaurant on a Saturday night and two days after running a Grab One voucher to. (which we didnt buy)
Well considering we were offered anytime there was still a few seats left in the restaurant which were never filled during the whole of our dining, yet we were stuck on possibly the worst table in the restaurant. it was a solo table away from the 3 dining sections right next to the seats where people wait to be seated! It was certainly a cold feeling part of the restaurant. Similar to going to hospital only to find out you have to wait in the coridor.

We ordered some cocktails to begin and during the meal we had 3 they come from the Belini bar and were all excellent expecially the smoked bourbon.

Foodwise we started with a bread and dips and a FISH soup with a side of brussel sprouts and anchovy goujons. Mains were 2 risottos, crayfish and a vegetarian one consisting of parmesan and butternut.

The bread arrived which was fine with the theatre of having to pestal and mortar your own dip and the anchovy goujons were addictive. The brussels where very boring and hardly had any flavour. Unfotunately the FISH soup didnt arrive, I told the waiter and he said he would check and just came back with this, "sorry we are going straight to mains now' I assume that meant someone had forgotten along the way so tough luck and you just have to have the risottos.

The risottos where excellent the parmesan one was doused in the stuff and the amazing texture coupled with the parmy flavour was great. This was equalled by the excellent saffron and crayfish risotto which again had a great texture and a wonderful flavour.

Overall the service was pretty poor, I am guessing he made the mistake with the order and the whole service was generally awkward and the setting wasn't great, no view, poor seating area (our table). Wouldn't return to this one
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
5/09/2013
Having gone through the numerous menus on offer for Auckland Restaurant Month, we selected Fish as the menu sounded delicious.

Unfortunately though, we weren't very impressed with some of the dishes.

I had no complaints about my selection. Food overall was prepared well. However, it was nothing spectacular.

Service was average as well. I have no complaints about it, but I just didn't feel as comfortable in the restaurant. As the restaurant was busy, it was quite difficult to get the attention of staff.

It did get quite noisy in Fish as well when they were busy. So it was a bit difficult to hold a conversation with my fellow diners.

Overall, an average experience.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
17/06/2013
We started downstairs at Bellini for a 'to die for' cocktail.
Fish restaurant has great décor, I love all the white furnishings and vases of gorgeous flowers and the views of the Cloud are impressive.

The service is fantastic, the staff really engage with the customer without being intrusive. Our waiter BJ was sweet, funny and tentative.

But stripped of the frills, is the food good? Yes absolutely. We had a 5 course Degustation, we started with Tomato & Crab Cappucino with roasted garlic cream in a tiny espresso cup & a glass of Daniel Le Brun Brut.

The second course was Tuna & Beetroot Tartare, fasinating with the buttermilk marbles and horseradish. However the beetroot we all thought over powered the tuna so that you wouldn't even know you were eating tuna, no fish taste in sight. The presentation however was pretty.

Pan fried Atlantic Scallops with califlower puree and chorizo was yummy.

Then we had the choice of Fish or Lamb. I had the Lamb rump with confit lamb belly, onion charcoal (which without looking at the menu I knew exactly what it tasted like) and carrot & cardamom puree
Shane Yardley of Simon Gault's Nourish group is the Head Chef at Fish and did us the honor of personally visiting our table which was a really nice touch. We were able to chat to him about the technique of Sous Vide – bathing the lamb in a hotwater bath, this made the lamb soft and melt in your mouth much like marshmellow. I never would have thought I could have likened lamb to marshmellow.

To finish for dessert we had Dark chocolate and popcorn - dark chocolate marquise, popcorn ice cream and chocolate popcorn wafer with amazing caramel spread on the plate and hokey pokey crumbs. I saw shades of Heston Blumenthal with the foam. Dreamy!!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer okharris
13/09/2012
I had a superb meal at FISH last night. A lovely space, really excellent food, and fantastic service. Would certainly recommend this place.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer leannex
31/08/2012
I think these two top chefs need to come to my house for lunch as I can certainly do much better than what I experienced yesterday!

Decided to take advantage of the Auckland Restaurant Month menu that Fish was offering - $31 for 2 courses or $39 for 3 courses and were pleased to find a very nice wine for $45 a bottle, so all good so far.

We started with bread and dip (an extra cost) and this consisted of 3 small buns and an interesting tomato mousse style dip.

I then opted for "Corn chowder / bacon / crab / pesto crouton" - what a joke this was. Basically it resembled Watties mixed vegetables in some thickened, unseasoned water with bits of bacon and a few shreds of crabmeat which looked like the tinned variety. The pesto crouton was a half of the buns served with our bread and dip and the topping was certainly green, but that's where it's similarity to pesto ended - it had no flavour at all - absolutely dreadful!

For the main I selected "FISH pot pie / selection of seafood / scallop / prawns / market fresh fish/ crayfish cream sauce / parmesan potato top". This was nicely presented with a leaf salad on the side. I did find one nice juicy prawn (certainly not prawns plural) and a couple of pieces of fish, but think the scallop must have escaped along with the crayfish cream sauce as the bulk of the pie was a rather bland white sauce, but there were plenty of peas (which I detest). This would be the sort of thing I'd serve up for Sunday dinner, but mine would have more seafood and flavour - very ho hum!

I felt no urge to give the desserts a go based on the entree and main course, so we moved on elsewhere for coffee and certainly won't be in a hurry to return.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Seafoody
26/08/2011
With Shane Yardley as Head Chef Fish will be the only place to go for a true Seafood dining experience.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer chrissieh
10/08/2011
Went to the opening of FISH at the Hilton and wow, this place is going to be fantastic. I never really rated White as I thought the food/service didn't quite stack up to the amazing setting (Auckland's best in my opinion). FISH has got a lot of competition with Britomart and now Wynyard Quarter doing very well but with Gaulty behind things should do well.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Anonymous
10/08/2011
Can't wait to try out Fish at Princes Wharf. It's tipped to be the BEST Seafood restaurant in Auckland.
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
 

Most Read Today

image
01 Auckland's Best Free Kids Activities

We check out the best five free kids activities in...

image
02 List With Us!

Get your venue or event listed with View New Zeala...

image
03 Auckland's Best Malls

Check out our picks of the top five malls in Auckl...

image
04 Auckland's Best Playgrounds

The kids have spoken and we are pleased to present...

image
05 Easter Holiday Fun

Our guide to things to do in Auckland with kids th...

Content updated: 21/04/2014 21:37
 

Restaurant Reviews

Get Onboard

Make It A Date

Connect

Latest Restaurants User Reviews

  • Waterfront Cafe
    My partner and I have passed this place hundreds of times and hav...

    Brett Taylor on 21/04/2014 @ 2:42 p.m.
  • Chevalier Point Cafe & Catering
    This little cafe is just a short stroll to Pt Chevalier Beach wit...

    Lesley_LocalHero on 20/04/2014 @ 1:05 p.m.
  • Cafe Hung Viet
    Enjoyed a lovely meal here with friends mid-week where the food w...

    janetmatthews on 20/04/2014 @ 7:53 a.m.
  • The Dutch East Indies Cafe
    The worst restaurant I have ever been in. Very disappointed as I ...

    Mionlemmens on 19/04/2014 @ 10:04 p.m.
  • Avenue 47 Cafe
    Best coffee in Birkenhead

    kat4al on 18/04/2014 @ 3:02 p.m.
Hitwise Award Winner