Euro Restaurant & Bar

Our rating 

User rating 

14 reviews
Venue Image
Shed 22,
147 Quay Street,
Princes Wharf,
Viaduct
Auckland,
1010

(09) 309 9866

Add a User Review for

Euro Restaurant & Bar
Add user review button
Add your own review of this restaurant

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer moss
19/11/2013
We went to Euro to celebrate my wife's birthday. The thing I noticed was the attention to detail in the service. The duty manager and our waiter both wished her a happy birthday and when our dessert came out they had written 'happy birthday' in chocolate.

The staff really know the menu inside-out. We were given a run-down of where in the country each component came from and how it was cooked. It made eating dinner a whole experience.

We were on a bit of a time constraint as we had to be at a show. We made the waiter aware and he got our dishes out to us very promptly.

All-in-all it was a great experience. The food is expensive, but I think you have to consider the evening as a whole culinary journey rather than just the price per portion. It is a great way to celebrate a special occasion.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Jessica293
10/08/2013
lovely setting, great food, however was slow on service.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer rosehawthorn
10/08/2013
Sorry - but Euro is definately not what it used to be and that is unfortunate news.
Tiny, overpriced portions and atmosphere that is outdated. I'd call myself a Euro regular (probably have been 6-8 times in the last 3 years and have taken advantage of a daily deal twice but on our last visit, paid full price and don't consider it to be anywhere near the 'must visit' that it was a few years back. Most mains are $40 + (unless you're going for steak - expect to take out a second mortgage) but the portions are ridiculously small so you'll need to order sides as well.
Can't fault the service staff though - on our most recent visit they were very good.
If you can grab a daily deal worth it, but at full price, sadly not.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
21/07/2013
Our group of six were greeted by a leggy waitress wearing shorts and stockings with very high heels. We were seated down the right end by a good looking very humerous waiter. As we were dining on a voucher for a 5 course degustation we also received a glass of bubbles and then ordered our following beverages.

For our first course we had a mini Tuna Taco with wasabi dressing which was nicely balanced.

Then for 2nd course a Ribollita Soup with a sous vide egg. The egg was the best bit and very tasty however the soup was like a sparcely filled minestrone I could have made at home.

For our main we had Pork Belly which was dissapointing to not have a crispy top and it was in a very salty sauce that we all found hard to eat.

We then received a 4th course which was just a Palette cleanser of orange sorbet with freeze dried orange. Very sweet and tart!
For dessert we had Roasted white chocolate with Guava jelly, cashew praline & banana ice cream. The nuts tasted old and rancid. The big thick smear on the plate was balsamic vinegar. The flavours I guess worked together but ½ of us didn't like it.

Overall a definte voucher meal, I still felt a little hungary after and whilst the dishes were presented nicely the food was not as top notch as you expected Euro or as this restaurant used to be once upon a time. The waiter however was worth tipping a well and hence the 3 stars. None of us would go back.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer JesseTsMum
8/09/2012
Came to Euro on a Saturday night early with my son in tow, the staff were great and accepting of my son the food was well priced and was absolutely amazing!

I had the whitebait fritter, salmon and green tea sorbet, my son had the crab risotto and chocolate icecream and his uncle had the oysters and duck and tiramisu, just 100% perfect, could not have been better.

everything was perfectly cooked and balanced and all in a reasonable time and cost. I recommend to all. :-)
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer christineryan
31/05/2013
had gone to Auckland to look after grandchildren. son and daughter were awesome enough to take me out to dinner for mothers day. went to Euro on a Thursday night. hadn't booked a table and were prepared to wait. place looked nice but the staff were unbelievably rude, totally ignored us, arrogant. felt we didn't fit the :look: dressed to impress and were totally snubbed. saw other diners who did look :the part: were getting other the top treatment and service...I was very disappointed especially for my children who were doing their best for me to have a fine dining experience. - Report
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
4/09/2012
The bar is bright and vibrant and the buzz of after work drinks was in full flow. We were taken through to the dining part which was a lot darker than the bar and introduced to David who was almost brilliant throughout.Looking at the menus the first thing that struck me was how affordable the wine list was! Wines by the glass starting at $8 something I really wasn’t expecting and there were similar affordable by the bottle prices. I opted throughout the night for the wines under the “something different” section.The food was also surprisingly very well priced starting at $19 and going through until $26 for entrees and $28-$44 for mains, so far this had not been the overpriced small portioned Euro I had heard about!Starting at the entrees the buffalo mozzarella salad had previously been had at Jervois Steak House and it’s a simple yet delicious entrée of which the skill is finding amazing ingredients that simply speak for themselves, the terrine was great full of flavour and the dressing really finished off the dish well. I had the Long island duck legs next and it was a pleasure to eat with sweet cous cous which I’m not usually a fan of and a thick and creamy butter sauce complimented a rich perfectly confited duo of duck legs. Dish of the night by a mile. However my vegetarian wife was really looking forward to what sounded like a perfect dish for her but the tart slightly failed to delivered, don’t get me wrong she did really like it but on this occasion it was a bit small in comparison to the duck and also the tart was cold which really isn’t what you expect from a WOOD ROASTED dish. However she insist I reiterate that despite this she did enjoy the dish.On to dessert, generally after having some amazing flavours throughout the night the apple terrine was a bit of a let-down, refreshing yes but without too much taste, the warm chocolate pudding was cooked to perfection and was as good as you can get from a chocolate fondant.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer outoftowner
29/06/2012
Caught up with some old colleagues during the week and the decision was made to 'splash out' so Euro Restaurant was the ideal candidate.
We were all treated to an exceptional dining experience - from the service to the food and wine list, we couldn't fault the Euro team. Euro's menu is very exciting and the great thing is you don't get over-awed by it (and if you do, the staff are on hand to give you a hand).
My main of the Pork Belly was exceptional as was the Early Grey Ice cream that I shared with one of my companions.
A return to Euro is a given - thanks again.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer eljaye
9/06/2011
We took some friends from Guernsey to Euro Restaurant to impress them with some of Auckland's fine dining. What a disappointment! The 4 of us were seated at a table less than a metre square so that it became so crowded with glasses and plates that the waiter had to ask us to empty the rest of the bread out of the basket and put it on our plates to make room for the main courses.The waiter was overly familiar, patted one of us on the shoulder, chuckled after every statement, hummed along to the featured music and felt he had to twice explain that evo is extra virgin oil. Re the music, one of the tunes was "Awimaway", in my opinion not suitable for a fine dining restaurant. When we are looking again for a 'fine dining' experience we will certainly steer clear of Euro Restaurant
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer christineryan
31/05/2013
totally agree with you on this. think owners of this restaurant need to look at staff as they certainly let down the whole establishment.
- Report
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.

Archive

View past user reviews for this venue/film.
 
Nearest

What's near Euro Restaurant & Bar?

Below are the nearest 5 venues within 500 metres of Euro Restaurant & Bar.
Cinemas near Euro Restaurant & Bar (0)

Most Read Today

image
01 List With Us!

Get your venue or event listed with View New Zeala...

image
02 Auckland's Best Playgrounds

The kids have spoken and we are pleased to present...

image
03 Easter Holiday Fun

Our guide to things to do in Auckland with kids th...

image
04 Auckland's Best Malls

Check out our picks of the top five malls in Auckl...

image
05 Auckland's Best Free Kids Activities

We check out the best five free kids activities in...

Content updated: 19/04/2014 23:58
 

Restaurant Reviews

Get Onboard

Make It A Date

Connect

Latest Restaurants User Reviews

  • The Dutch East Indies Cafe
    The worst restaurant I have ever been in. Very disappointed as I ...

    Mionlemmens on 19/04/2014 @ 10:04 p.m.
  • Avenue 47 Cafe
    Best coffee in Birkenhead

    kat4al on 18/04/2014 @ 3:02 p.m.
  • Mexico Ellerslie
    One of the worst customer service experiences in Ellerslie Mexico...

    Mei888 on 17/04/2014 @ 10:34 p.m.
  • Hinemoa Street Organic Cafe
    Hinemoa Street Organic Café is great for brunch or meeting friend...

    Terri_LocalHero on 17/04/2014 @ 1:08 p.m.
  • Altura Cafe & Roastery
    Altura Café and Roastery is one of my GO to cafes because they do...

    Terri_LocalHero on 17/04/2014 @ 1:00 p.m.
Hitwise Award Winner