Cocoro

Our rating 

User rating 

8 reviews
Venue Image
56A Brown Street,
Ponsonby
Auckland,
1010

(09) 360 0927

Add a User Review for

Cocoro
Add user review button
Add your own review of this restaurant

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer tsan479
24/06/2013
Cocoro is tucked away on a quiet street but once inside you would think you are dinning at one of the stylish restaurants in Britomart.

We had the 8 course Omotenashi degustation menu and we were not disappointed with any of the 8 courses. The presentation of every course was immaculate and stunning. The highlight for me was the Antarctic tooth fish, the fish just melted in your mouth and the sauce was delicious!

The service was impeccable, all the staff knew exactly what was on each plate and were also very knowledgeable with regards to the extensive sake list available too.

If you are looking for a nice night out and want to enjoy some amazing food with great attention to detail Cocoro is the place.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
9/10/2012
Cocoro in Ponsonby had been much talked about. I can see why as they serve up good food with fantastic service. I have heard many people pass Cocoro over after having a look at their menu online. My suggestion is not to strike them off the list if you're looking for a restaurant as their menu does them no justice. Menu sounds simple but don't let that deceive you.

Environment was relaxed and unpretentious. Staff, lovely and helpful.. well, as best as they can explain things.

Drink selection, wide. I like their beverage refrigerator. It's like a supermarket display of all the kinds of drinks they have! I thought it interesting how you could have a wine match, sake match or mixed wine & sake match with your meal. :) Something different.

Food was delicious! Okay, there was a miss with one of the degustation courses (not really to my liking), but just possibly just me. Fantastic presentation and flavours though. And fun.

The service... I don't know when it was the last time that I had such great service. All it took was just a glance to the wait staff for them to come over and ask if anything was alright. Not just once, twice! It's either good service, or my face is really easy to read. Judging by how frequently I get such level of service, I think it's the former really.

My experience at a restaurant is gauged by the level of service and quality of food. Cocoro has definitely ticked the boxes on both.



User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
19/05/2012
Great service ! Great food ! went to Cocoro tonight for late mother's day dinner, heard about Cocoro a lot lately and wanted to try! and it was absoultely the best Japanese restaurant in Auckland!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer fergstar
14/12/2011
thought the food at Cocoro was to a very high standard and cooked to perfection.


belly pork yumyum
angus beef melted in my mouth loads of flavour
sea food nests with caviar.....out standing....

thanks so much Cocoro

User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer janetmatthews
12/07/2011
Had lunch today at Cocoro and what a treat. Delicate flavours in a contemporary setting - Cocoro is the perfect venue for a business lunch. Of Cocoro's lunch menu, we selected a few items from the japanese tapas menu - my highlights were the angus beef with poached egg and the pork belly bun. It's a great way to try japanese cuisine (and not limit it to either sushi or tempura). Cocoro is well recommended if you're in the Ponsonby area.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
17/06/2011
Just back from a lovely meal at Cocoro. The restaurant was packed but were served efficiently (without being rushed). Cocoro is a fantastic experience all round - if you've got room, try the Japanese custard which is surprisingly good.
User icon
StarNo StarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer simmac
20/01/2011
The food here might be good but you are unlikely actually get any. The service is rubbish. They loose your order, ignore you for an hour (did none of the staff wonder why thereis a table sitting for an hour with no food) and then are happy to charge for the drinks and send you away hungry. And the drinks aren't cheap. If you like food, go somewhere else.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Anonymous
5/12/2010
I'm a huge fan of Japanese cuisine and Soto has become a regular since we moved to Auckland.
With Cocoro now on the scene as well, and after a superb dining experience last night, lovers of Japanese cuisine in Auckland are now spoilt for choice.
Check it out before the work gets out - Cocoro is a nice little christmas pressie to the Auckland dining scene!
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
 
Nearest

What's near Cocoro?

Below are the nearest 5 venues within 500 metres of Cocoro.
Cinemas near Cocoro (0)

Most Read Today

image
01 List With Us!

Get your venue or event listed with View New Zeala...

image
02 Get Your Skates on this Winter!

Paradice presents Aotea Square Ice Rink with a NEW...

image
03 Auckland's Best Outlet Shops

We check out the five best spots for outlet shoppi...

image
04 Auckland's Best Free Kids Activities

We check out the best five free kids activities in...

image
05 Celebrity Interviews

From hollywood legends to new kids on the block, r...

Content updated: 25/07/2014 09:41
 

Hungry?

Restaurant Reviews

Get Onboard

Make It A Date

Connect

Latest Restaurants User Reviews

  • La Porchetta
    Prices are reasonable. I would give it 3.5 stars but can't give o...

    cantabjames on 25/07/2014 @ 8:47 a.m.
  • Mexico Takapuna
    I've been to Takapuna's Mexico more times than I care to remember...

    gretchen294 on 24/07/2014 @ 9:31 p.m.
  • Jade Dragon
    Took the kids and inlaws along to a yum char on Sunday. First tim...

    Leaguelova on 21/07/2014 @ 12:14 p.m.
  • Alfrescos Cafe & Caterers
    Great place and lovely staff :) can't wait to come back

    tmak021 on 21/07/2014 @ 9:05 a.m.
  • Cafe Viet
    We had an impromptu dinner at Cafe Viet last week. It was early ...

    Louie on 20/07/2014 @ 9:18 p.m.
Hitwise Award Winner