Circus Circus

Our rating 

User rating 

15 reviews
Venue Image
447 Mt Eden Road,
Mt Eden
Auckland,
1024

(09) 623 3833

Add a User Review for

Circus Circus
Add user review button
Add your own review of this restaurant

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
14/10/2014
Circus Circus has never disappointed me in the past and I am happy to say that their service and menu is still as great as the last time I went! I ordered the pasta of the day which was a fettuccine with bacon, mushroom and courgette in a tomato sauce and I licked the plate clean just like a cat! Unfortunately the restaurant was a tad busy and the waiter failed to bring us the dessert menu but all in all I can not fault it!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Gauma
14/11/2012
Being not far away from this place, I go there regularly. It's got so much going for it: superb coffee, amazing desserts, delicious food etc. It's great that you can catch up with your friends for a coffee and a cake when most of the cafes are closed - Circus Circus is open till late.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Cysim
21/04/2012
Circus Circus has such rude waiters. Wasn't very happy with the service
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer ankari
13/10/2011
Been going to Circus Circus for years - coffee went downhill for a wee while recently when Barristo left but back up to scratch lately. Find the lack of salads on offer appalling ... but great club sandwiches and carrot cake.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer gothemanu2011
2/10/2011
had a mixed bag experience at Circus Circus last week. Coffee was great and the majority of the staff were really awesome but come payment time, unfortunately myself and it seemed a whole host of other patrons we're appallingly treated - the asian lady at the till barking out outdoors - jeez, did you want me to pay or not???? Circus Circus has always had a solid reputation - but it is often the little things that turn the tide.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer robandkelly
12/05/2011
Pluses:– Fresh food due to high number of customers
Minuses:– Salad was lacking and covered in copious amounts of dressing
Interesting:– Why is Circus Circus so busy? They do everything just below average
Verdict: – Will go back soon for breakfast to see if things are better
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer citykid
27/07/2010
Unlike a few of the peeps posting reviews here, the few times I have visited Circus Circus I have had nothing but good service. Attentive and friendly - didn't think the staff that dealt with me were pretentious at all...certainly not on the Ponsonby scale.
Good coffee to boot - Circus Circus has long been an con of the Mt Eden cafe scene and for good reason - I for one will be heading back.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer LynW
27/07/2010
We go here often as a couple for brunch at weekends and also meet friends for coffee with regularity. I had sent emails through the website inquiry form which kept being rejected, so I called up and I was told to try again and if it got rejected call back and ask for the Manager -- which I did. Apparently he had left but the guy I spoke to told me he could help. I told him what I was considering Circus Circus as a venue for a lunch for 16 people for an upcoming 50th birthday to which I was told they were too busy at weekends to set aside a table for 16 and we would have to take potluck and see if one was available. I told him I couldn't risk that with 16 people as it was for a special event. He then told me there was no where locally that would take bookings for that number at the weekend whether it was a special occassion or not. I was very surprised at this comment as I had made tentative queries with two other nice local cafes. I said that wasn't true as I had had responses for other local cafes regarding the same size group and number. He said we could have a table but only for an hour! I should have told him to get over himself, as other busy cafes in Mt Eden did not have the same inflated sense of popularity. I am very disappointed at this as we have been loyal patrons of Circus Circus for a long time - but I doubt if we will go back again - there are other places in Mt Eden equally as good who it are happy to welcome our group and aren't dismissive of patron loyalty.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer coffeeslinga
12/07/2011
Unfortunately that is the reality for any cafe manager/owner/operator running a successful business. Whether you are a local or not, the risk to set aside 16 covers for more than an hour is too great. Those tables will turn once, maybe twice in that time span (1-2 hours) and the whole days profitability could depend on that. It might look as if cafes like Circus Circus make wads of cash but the reality is that those extra 10 or 11 meals they can trade in that small space of time can mean the diff between a good day and a plodder. What if 3 or 4 of your party don't show. Will you guarantee to fork out for the trade those reservations might cost? Probably not.I have managed many successful cafes including the Original Baretta Famiglia in Dominion Rd, Dida's Foodstore in Herne Bay and Zarbo in Newmarket and it is madness to accept reservations at lunch based on the above. Unfortunately for you - many times up to half the people are late, do not show or stay for two hours or more. Busy cafes aren't built for this type of dining. The issue I have is the way you were dealt with. Or weren't. Circus Circus should have got onto you in the first instance without delay and politely explained what I have to you. - Report
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Leah
6/07/2010
I find it interesting that I couldn't book a table for 22 people confirmed on a Sunday unless prior to 9am. I do realise that its a busy time, but if we as a group were to turn up only to get turned away or unable to sit together, well that just doesn't make sense.
Very disappointing as I have been here for lunch, but no longer.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Sublime
11/03/2010
Circus Circus is my favourite place to visit in Mt Eden. The staff are great, food is exceptional and the coffee is the best! Always a great place to dine at.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Amy210
20/05/2010
Ack, have to say - dislike this place! Not not the staff - but food here has aways been >basic. - Report
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Anonymous
23/04/2009
Circus Circus,this is a favourite spot to start a day. If good coffee is what you want then that is what will be brewed up by Jake (head coffee guy). good coffee is a subjective comment, but i'm sure you will agree it is the best. the food it pretty good. and the service is friendly without being annoying. check it out, i love it (every day).
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
13/11/2008
Had an awesome meal at Circus Circus last night. Started off with the bread and dips followed by the lamb shank. The shank was melt in your mouth. My friends chose the fish and thoroughly enjoyed it. The service was fast and friendly and I will be back again in a few weeks to try the vegetarian crepes!!!!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Anonymous
20/10/2008
We popped in here after reading up on view auckland for child friendly cafes.

The setting was great, tappering up over 3 levels, the atmosphere was comfortable. No one seemed to mind the two youngest of our groups inability to sit still - at 3 and 5 it's hard to keep them tied down.

The staff were brilliant, friendly and it seems they may have second jobs as comedians - they will make you have a laugh or two!

The food was great - I recommend the waffles with pear and from across the table the eggs bene looked fantastic.

Most importantly the coffee was perfect!

I would certainly visit again.

Thank you Circus Circus - well done
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Anonymous
26/08/2006
To be honest with you guys when I went to Circus Circus two years ago, I was so disappointed with burnt flat-white coffee and average food. But, I went back few times and started to like it a lot:)


Last month, I had lunch - chicken served Teppanyaki with lots of fresh veges - it was about $16 and absolutely delicious. The coffee was fantastic and the service was really awesome - I try7 to go there at least five times a month.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Anonymous
27/10/2005
I just love this place for breakfast, it has fun staff, interesting rooms and seating, decent menu and good coffee. BUT in saying that, I recently went there for dinner and was very disappointed in the meal. The prices were quite high and the food was very bad, neither of us enjoyed our meal, the risotto was tasteless, the chicken was dry, the pasta was bland. The staff were the only highlight, they are always happy and pleasant.


So - highly recommend for breakfast/lunch, but until they get a better chef, stay away from the dinner menu.
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
 

Most Read Today

image
01 Auckland's Best Playgrounds

The kids have spoken and we are pleased to present...

image
02 Auckland's Best Malls

Check out our picks of the top five malls in Auckl...

image
03 Christmas Lights and Displays in Auckland

Enjoy Christmas in Auckland under the glow of fest...

image
04 Auckland's Best Outlet Shops

We check out the five best spots for outlet shoppi...

image
05 Auckland Santa Parades

A guide to Auckland Santa Parades this year.

Content updated: 27/11/2014 18:29
 

Restaurant Reviews

Get Onboard

Make It A Date

Connect

Latest Restaurants User Reviews

  • Jack Tar
    The ambience was upbeat. Food was fresh and tasty. Service was qu...

    Gautam on 27/11/2014 @ 1:00 p.m.
  • Euro Restaurant & Bar
    I haven't dined at Euro for a good 18 months or so and remember t...

    citykid on 22/11/2014 @ 7:47 a.m.
  • Boon Thai
    Critically tasty food!! Best of the best is the pad thai deliciou...

    Goryugi on 17/11/2014 @ 8:14 p.m.
  • Boon Thai
    Their food is the best. I go there every afternoon to buy the yel...

    Goryugi on 17/11/2014 @ 8:06 p.m.
  • Esquires Coffee House
    Me, hubby and kiddo wanted something Sweet this weekend and thoug...

    MSM on 17/11/2014 @ 2:31 p.m.
Hitwise Award Winner