Cereal Killa

Our rating 

User rating 

10 reviews
Venue Image
360 Dominion Road,
Mt Eden
Auckland,
1010

(09) 630 8008

Add a User Review for

Cereal Killa
Add user review button
Add your own review of this restaurant

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Geoffgray
7/02/2014
Expected more from the reviews I had read. Unfortuantely service was poor, we were treated like we were a nuisance. no menu or blackboard obvious, we were not told where the menu was .... until we asked!!l we were told menu was behind us on the wall!, perhaps a sign on the counter to say turn around the board is behind you or on the wall by the cashier would be better? It was 3pm and they rushed us out. Not what I expect from a cafe.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
5/08/2013
Having revisited a number of times after, I have come to the conclusion that I do like Cereal Killa.

The downside to the place is that it is a little small and can get quite stuffy on a warm day, but apart from that, they serve up decent quality food and delicious iced chocolates / hot chocolates.

Staff are friendly enough. Some more than others but I have no beef with any of them.

I would recommend Cereal Killa, but go early or after 1pm. Otherwise you may have to wait for a table.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Nico48
14/07/2013
We went to Cereal Killer for brunch today, the food was great, coffee was strong for me which was fine but regretably I will not visit this cafe again. Not because of the food or service but we had a very dissapointing encounter with a follow customer because of our Asian descent. He was sitting next to us in the beginning then he moved away from us when he had the chance and the whole time he kept looking at us, which made us uncomfortable to say the least. Afterwards he came to our table and said that we were being disrespectable to the food and we put him off eating his food. I dont understand why he had so much time to stare at us during his whole meal and to make such a disrespectable comment in the end. We were put off at coming to the same cafe after this incident. I strongly recommend any other asian customer to think twice before coming to this cafe. We have as much right as anyone else to come and enjoy the food and not to get upset with something like this. During the whole time we were there, we were not loud or disturbed anyone. We didn't even talked very much, I was reading a magazine and my partner was reading the newspaper. Therefore I am sorry to say that I will not be coming here anymore.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer ERAB
17/07/2013
Hi There

Thank you for your review of our cafe. From reading it you enjoyed the food, coffee and service whilst in our establishment.

We do our best to ensure that everyone has a good experience when they visit us and everyone regardless of race, sex or age is more than welcome.

I am sorry that you had a bad experience with another customer when you visited us but I do not see how this is the fault of our cafe or is a reason to discourage people from visiting us.

Can I suggest that if you do encourage this sort of behavior when you are eating out anywhere, that the appropriate thing to do is to bring it to the attention of proprietor so that they can deal with the situation at the time.

We can't fix it if we don't know about it and to go online and write a review like this under these circumstances is incredibly irresponsible and unfair.



- Report
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
5/08/2013
Hey Nico48,

I agree with the proprietor on his comments. It is rather unfair for you to rate the restaurant based on your experience with another customer.


Regards,
Christine - Report
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
7/02/2013
Cereal Killa, to me, is a simple little cafe. Seems a little out of its place though in this cultural melting pot of Dominion Road. The place itself was very bright with lots of light streaming in from outside but can be rather cramped on the inside. There's enough space to breathe if the place isn't packed but some of tables are in quite close proximity to one another. The single tables along the wall are very, uhm... petite.

I didn't dislike the place but am a little undecided. I like their concept and there's definitely an organic feel to it. It was comfortable and the staff were helpful. I did think that maybe some could maybe smile a wee bit more though. Not to say they were unfriendly, they just didn't seem very friendly either. Perhaps it's been a long day?

The food was prepared well. There's some interesting stuff on the menu but I wasn't feeling up to experiment as my tummy felt at odds that day. Stuck to the safe, fried eggs on toast with creamy herb mushrooms. The food was prepared and seasoned well. The herbed mushrooms had enough herbs in it but not over-powering. Neither was it creamy the point where it'd make me feel sick. Overall pretty happy with the food.

I got their house made iced tea. On first sip, it took some getting used to as it was not as sweet as one would expect of iced tea. Some may find it bland perhaps, but I thought it was a refreshing change. Definitely healthier. The fragrance of the tea more than made up for the lack of sweetness. Iced teas should be like this.

I think the place deserves another visit. One when I'm feeling better and can fully indulge in what they have to offer. The plus side is that they're not overly expensive either. The menu is basic, but I think it covers all bases.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Shtblk
19/11/2012
Amazing cafe experience. Great service, even when really busy. The food and coffee was great also. Cereal killa is a must visit!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer pjs
25/09/2012
My daughter and I had lunch here today, for her 12the Birthday. I had to write a note about the great service and the cool, quirky setting. The real star, hence the recommendation, was the food! we started with a perfect latte, and a freshly crushed apple juice, then I had the best burger I think Ive ever had.... a big juicy home made pattie, with blue cheese on top, and a yummy caper mayo. Stunning. My daughter devoured a Mince on Potato rosti dish, and the Rosti was 'heaven'! we will definitely be back, was great value for money, and really glad we visited. Thanks!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer cocopopso
3/07/2012
Just found this place on Dominion Road. Finally somewhere good to go on the weekend. Coffee was outstanding, I had to order 3! Fresh juice was all so super tasty. I had the porridge and it was amazing but a huge portion, was perfect for a winter warmer. Very good service, even though they were busy, Cereal Killa was all round a top notch joint and ill be going back next weekend for sure.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer kimharring
8/06/2012
Best thing to happen to Dominion road in ages. I stop into Cereal Killa at least once a week either for a coffee fix or on occasion (and if the budget-nazi permits) a bite to eat. Earlier this week I had the eggs Benedict with really rich hollandaise sauce. It's a sure-fire favourite but there are other treats on Cereal Killa's menu worth seeking out. Trust me!
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.

Archive

View past user reviews for this venue/film.
 
Nearest

What's near Cereal Killa?

Below are the nearest 5 venues within 500 metres of Cereal Killa.
Cinemas near Cereal Killa (0)

Most Read Today

image
01 List With Us!

Get your venue or event listed with View New Zeala...

image
02 Easter Weekend Events 2014

Looking to make the most of these Easter holidays?...

image
03 Easter Holiday Fun

Our guide to things to do in Auckland with kids th...

image
04 Auckland's Best Swimming Pools

We have a look at five heated swimming pool comple...

image
05 Rainy Day Ideas in Auckland

Use these ideas to get you started, and the kids m...

Content updated: 18/04/2014 09:25
 

Restaurant Reviews

Get Onboard

Make It A Date

Connect

Latest Restaurants User Reviews

  • Mexico Ellerslie
    One of the worst customer service experiences in Ellerslie Mexico...

    Mei888 on 17/04/2014 @ 10:34 p.m.
  • Hinemoa Street Organic Cafe
    Hinemoa Street Organic Café is great for brunch or meeting friend...

    Terri_LocalHero on 17/04/2014 @ 1:08 p.m.
  • Altura Cafe & Roastery
    Altura Café and Roastery is one of my GO to cafes because they do...

    Terri_LocalHero on 17/04/2014 @ 1:00 p.m.
  • Shore Rd Cafe
    Not normally out this way but was meeting a friend here. Shore Rd...

    Terri_LocalHero on 17/04/2014 @ 12:53 p.m.
  • Federal Delicatessen
    We will be returning. The staff were very attentive and no one a...

    rvahry on 14/04/2014 @ 3:12 p.m.
Hitwise Award Winner