Tin Soldier

Our rating 

User rating 

10 reviews
Venue Image
151 Ponsonby Road,
Ponsonby
Auckland,


(09) 378 1719

Add a User Review for

Tin Soldier
Add user review button
Add your own review of this pub / bar

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
11/04/2014
From the friendly greeting upon arrival to the casual banter at departure it is hard to vault Tin Solider. Expectations were reserved slightly, nestled amongst such Ponsonby icons as Chapel and PRB it would be easy to slip up. However if anything Tin Soldier exceeds the standards set by its neighbours.

Lay-out.
Split two level venue. Bar 'upstairs' has plenty of leaner height seating, yet affords itself to plenty of standing space for the staff to operate through. Downstairs (5 steps) the dining area caters for all. There are larger regular height tables for larger groups, leaner heights for those that like to people watch, plenty of glass to watch the throngs outside, a recessed windowed green area above to allow the air through and an open kitchen! An open kitchen is a statement to patrons that our staff know their stuff...here they sure do. The knife work, cooking techniques, and presentation are a delight to watch.

Staff.
Attentive, educated, honest in their food appraisals and preferences.

Fare.
Starters
Chipotle mayo on the cerviche market fish may be slightly overpowering for the softer pallet, but adds a dynamic twist to the traditional oka serving. The Chicken Parfait with pear and saffron chutney - it's so addictive the government might try and ban it.

Mains
We went with the Pork Belly (a personal fav at the moment) and were not disappointed. The 'spiced pumpkin' it is served with is incredible. Without going all Simon Gault on it the initial sweetness of the pumpkin blends into the saltiness of the pork then the subtle spices finish it off perfectly...the best Ive had of late. We probably didn't need the venison carpaccio, such the serving sizes of the first 3, but it was recommended so we did. And glad we did too. This modern day thought of infusing fruits with meat flavours is a pleasure in most cases, the venison with the pear and crispy garlic is a fine example.

Too full for dessert or cheese on this occasion. But will be back
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
24/01/2013
Tin Soldier in Ponsonby.

Food:
The mains were pretty good. However, the desserts were the stand out for me. I couldn't quite visualise what the 'tastes of Milo' would be like but it definitely didn't disappoint. I only wish that there were more churros, or perhaps I should ask next time I should ask if I could get the churros on its own. Crisp, light and fluffy. The churros melts in your mouth. Meanwhile, the watermelon dessert was perfect for the hot muggy day. Refreshing and delicious.

Atmosphere:
Relaxed and comfortable. Although, could do with some fans indoors as it was stifling hot the day we visited.

Service:
Friendly and efficient.

Overall impression:
Need to try more of their mains before I can give a proper verdict. But the churros is worth returning for.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
17/10/2012
One of the most satisfying Auckland dining experiences in a long time and one that I'd thoroughly recommend. From woe to go, Tin Soldier really delivered.
Setting is contemporary with two separate spaces. The main dining area within clear view of the busy kitchen has a combination tables, booths and high stools - quite a nice effect especially if, as we were, you've got the luxury of an elevated view so you can pretty much decide what you want before even seeing the menu.
Staff were fantastic - breaking down the menu and the dining philosophy really well - Tin Soldier is a sharing experience with all dishes basically deconstructed - and it works.
Drinks list ideal - a good variety of craft beers and local wines - Little Creatures for me (one of the best drops going around) and not overly priced.
Then the food - on our visit we enjoyed everything from buffalo cheese balls and mussel sliders to sirloin steak and pigs cheek. In truth we ordered far to much (and therefore we didn't have room for Tin Soldier's Milo-inspired dessert which I've been since reading about) - but there was so much to tempt one and it was really well priced.
Tin Soldier is right up there with Ponsonby's, if not Auckland's best casual dining restaurants I'm sure. We'll be back and hopefully soon.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Brennybumnuts
15/10/2012
We had a great night at Tin Soldier on Saturday. We enjoyed the whole shared plate experience and great service. The outstanding dishes were sirloin steak and the pigs cheek. The fries and chorizo crochets were also great. Tin Soldiers well priced wine list also impressed Us. The man o war Chardonnay a mere $12 a glass a winner.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer cmonthebay
27/07/2012
I had read the write up about Tin Soldier in the Herald and then having seen some pretty positive reviews on this site and others were really keen to give it a go mid-week.
I like the small plate concept as it gives you an opportunity to try a wide variety and then if need be, order more. The Fish pie was pretty spectacular but the highlight (which seems to be a common theme), was the Milo pud...why has it taken so long to discover this dish!
Overall, dining at Tin Soldier was a really great experience. The drink prices are a little higher than I'm used to but this is Ponsonby right. Go there!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Serpico
6/07/2012
Went to Tin Soldier last night for a quick drink and stayed for 2 hours. was a really great vibe in there.
Had the Pinot Noir from the tap and it was good, had the mini hotdogs and chicken wings which were good - the mini hot dogs were really good.
Service was friendly and relaxed - we sat at the bar.
I would definitely go again and have a proper meal, the menu looked really good.
It is unpretentious, friendly and a great place just to hang out.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer sallly
3/07/2012
I went to Tin Soldier a couple of weeks ago just after it opened. I loved the wine on tap, I loved the milo dessert and I loved the pumpkin.
Cute waiters outfits. Nice new addition to Ponsonby Road for those of us locals getting a bit bored with the same old menus.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Andyq
1/07/2012
Tin Soldier is highly recommended! For those of you who are a little cautious when sampling new foods, please don't be put off by the name of the pork cheek... If you like pork belly you will adore this dish. Impeccably cooked, I can say you will not be disappointed. The rest of the small plates were just as tasty and the service was wonderful to match. Fantastic offering of tap beers (and tap wine?!) but again don't let snobbery get the better of you. Try it- or it's your own loss. To finish, go for the flavours of Milo.. Don't question it just do it. You will be back for seconds. Or requesting it for breakfast the next morning. Will definitely be back - thankyou Tin Soldier for a wonderful dining experience!
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.

Archive

View past user reviews for this venue/film.
 
Nearest

What's near Tin Soldier?

Below are the nearest 5 venues within 500 metres of Tin Soldier.
Cinemas near Tin Soldier (0)

Most Read Today

image
01 Auckland's Best Free Kids Activities

We check out the best five free kids activities in...

image
02 Auckland's Best Playgrounds

The kids have spoken and we are pleased to present...

image
03 Auckland's Best Outlet Shops

We check out the five best spots for outlet shoppi...

image
04 Auckland's Best Rib Restaurants

We get down and dirty (gastronomically speaking of...

image
05 Auckland's Best Day Spas

From reflexology to Reiki, Auckland Day Spas offer...

Content updated: 21/08/2014 00:41
 

Add Review

Latest Pubs & Bars User Reviews

  • The Commons
    I took my wife here for our wedding anniversary this year. We rea...

    DavidY on 18/08/2014 @ 4:58 p.m.
  • Kura Japanese Sake Bar
    This is my favourite Japanese restaurant. We have been going ther...

    DavidY on 18/08/2014 @ 4:57 p.m.
  • My Bar
    Just recently had my 21st Birthday at MyBar and I have to say, it...

    JamesRhacz on 12/08/2014 @ 7:25 p.m.
  • 123 Karaoke Bar
    Went tonight and wasn't impressed that the staff hog the stage. M...

    darro on 6/08/2014 @ 11:15 p.m.
  • The Cav
    This isn't the old sports bar on College Hill that it used to be....

    Chiana_Local_Hero on 28/07/2014 @ 3:00 p.m.
Hitwise Award Winner