The Wade Hotel

User rating 

9 reviews
Venue Image
2 Tavern Road,
Silverdale
Auckland,
0632

(09) 426 4311

Add a User Review for

The Wade Hotel
Add user review button
Add your own review of this pub / bar

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
14/03/2014
We went down to The Wade last Sunday for a relaxed late lunch & it was amazing. A great little Blues Band on the deck, kids playing in the Huge back yard & pub food to die for. A fantastic & historic place to relax in. Will be back SOON!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Vermont
1/03/2013
Brilliant! great food and superb staff

Kids had an amazing time, which meant we could relax.

Will be back as soon as possible!
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Kos2011
31/08/2012
I went there a few days ago for the first time. I had lunch and the food was delicious. I was keen to return. Having taken my husband back for dinner I was really disappointed. The fish and chips was very expensive for two tiny slivers of fish and a plate of chips. Really unexpected in a pub meal. I had the same vege stack I had previously had at lunch and it was smaller than my lunch time version and lacked taste. The yummy home made sauce was replaced by bottled, the relish on the bread was replaced wih mayo and it just lacked any real taste or quality. Service was fine. Unfortunately the inconsistency in quality will stop me from returning.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer YaceLL
29/06/2012
We visited The Wade last weekend Sunday for lunch, heading out for a pub meal with friends, and expecting nothing flash. Wow were we suprised when we walked in. The place has been completely re-done since any of the group had last visited (2-5 years ago) and it was packed.

We ordered off the pub lunch menu, food was fantastic, service too was good too, no complaints there. It was very busy so took a bit of time for the meals to come out, but well worth the wait.

We sat on the deck in the winter sun with the heaters on, and it was an awesome way to spend a sunday arvo with friends.

Heading back this weekend to try the breakfast menu :-)

We were stoked to find this place, having just moved to the coast, and being so so disappointed with all the other restaurants we had tried in the area, this is definetly our new favorite spot.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Gail33
23/04/2012
This was our first visit to the Wade Hotel-it won't be the last!! Exquisite Thai beef salad,tasty,well presented and just delicious! Now to the service, a friendly,attentive waitress, paid attention to detail-well done!! We will be back to the Wade and will recommend to all our friends-a great big "Thank you." Gail.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Byjingos
27/10/2011
Well I recently have stepped into the Wade Hotel to enjoy the most fab evening dining that I now don't have to drive to the city to get! Our meals were not only amazingly presented but also very tasty, with sound combining flavours and great choices to view and choose from.
the service was friendly and efficient with good attention to detail.

The new decor was a welcome change and very tastefully assigned, I will be spreading the word and definitely returning to try the lunch menu with friends very soon.


Lysia
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer MOTH
16/09/2011
We really enjoyed our Saturday lunch.

Sister and I shared a small bottle of bubbles and both of us enjoyed the pumpkin and fetta salad.

He that was with us had a huge steak with mushroom sauce, chips and passed on the green stuff and left nothing on his plate.

The staff were friendly, the surroundings really very nice, nothing like the Wade of old.

The prices were affordable, one can take the family I am looking forward to going there in the Summer and sitting on the deck in the sun.

Thumbs up to the new Wade concept the Hibiscus Coast has need something like this for a long time
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer bigeater
18/08/2011
I hadn't been to the Wade Hotel for years and was pleasantly surprised with the new decor, a vast improvement to the original. But I was hugely disappointed in the food, not only was it overpriced but it was mediocre to say the least, and to be served by a waitress that stunk of cigarettes was very off putting, sadly I won't be eating there again.

The restroom (ladies) was very clean and presentable and my husband said the same of the men's restroom.

Please please please Wade Hotel either hire non smoking waitresses or tell your waitresses to clean up their act!

Bar staff were friendly.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Willow99
22/08/2011
Sounds like possibly a one off situation. We called into the Wade Bistro & Bar on Sunday. It was a gorgeous day so sat out on their beautiful big deck and soaked up the sun. The wait staff were all very well presented, very friendly and helpful. Our food was really enjoyable, and I thought the prices were very fair (certainly a bit cheaper than Albany and City prices).
We had the squid with corriander sauce, curried mussles and fish & chips which were all excellant. (kids meals were great too)
Also thought the wine list was very extensive for a small town pub.
I have just found out the restaurant at the Wade Hotel has only been open 5 weeks, so hopefully just teething problems. I will deffinately being returning and hope that you give them another chance. Its so great to see someone trying to bring some new life to an old and dated pub. Thumbs up to the (new?) owners. - Report
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.

Archive

View past user reviews for this venue/film.
 
Nearest

What's near The Wade Hotel?

Below are the nearest 5 venues within 500 metres of The Wade Hotel.
Restaurants near The Wade Hotel (0)
Pubs & Bars near The Wade Hotel (0)
Cinemas near The Wade Hotel (0)

Most Read Today

image
01 At The Flicks - September 2014 Film Highlights

View's guide to what's hitting the big screen this...

image
02 Auckland's Best Outlet Shops

We check out the five best spots for outlet shoppi...

image
03 Daylight Savings in New Zealand

Daylight Saving in New Zealand

image
04 Auckland's Best Free Kids Activities

We check out the best five free kids activities in...

image
05 Auckland's Best Malls

Check out our picks of the top five malls in Auckl...

Content updated: 23/09/2014 06:16
 

Add Review

Latest Pubs & Bars User Reviews

  • The Good Home Birkenhead
    and Sophia!

    Mazlit on 19/09/2014 @ 12:28 p.m.
  • The Good Home Birkenhead
    Do you want a restaurant that has beautifully cooked meat, delici...

    Mazlit on 19/09/2014 @ 12:27 p.m.
  • The Good Home Birkenhead
    Do you love ribs that melt in your mouth? Ice cream sundaes perfe...

    Mazlit on 19/09/2014 @ 12:13 p.m.
  • My Bar
    Situated right next door to Renkon Japanese and just up the road ...

    Georgina28 on 18/09/2014 @ 10:51 a.m.
  • Mekong Baby
    Mekong Baby is Asian Fusion to the T! The very well known restaur...

    Lesley_LocalHero on 13/09/2014 @ 12:49 p.m.
Hitwise Award Winner