The Riverhead

Our rating 

User rating 

18 reviews
Venue Image
Corner Queen & York,
Riverhead
Auckland,


(09) 412 8902

Add a User Review for

The Riverhead
Add user review button
Add your own review of this pub / bar

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer stephanieanna
22/09/2013
Myself and my friends really like The Riverhead! We have been here a few times and have always enjoyed the food. The boys especially love the All You Can Eat Ribs for $28 on Tuesday nights. Pizzas are yummy and the staff are nice and friendly. The place itself is nicely presented too
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Andra
6/09/2012
Went with some friends on the Red boat to the Riverhead Tavern…wow, awesome.! The trip on the boat was fun. Once at the tavern the food was great, heaps of it, the prices reasonable and the staff where really friendly. The woman we had offered Mum glasses when she couldn’t read the menu, nice touch. Loved their uniforms too, original and relaxed, so much better than white and black, stiff and starchy…
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer PeterB
27/04/2012
We booked at The Riverhead via email on Monday for an Anzac afternoon lunch, and I had to ring 24 hours later to see if my booking had been received and confirmed. With this sort of service we should have stayed home. Service was slow with both taking our drinks orders and, food orders. After well over 1 hour of being at our table we were advised that they had “lost” our order but several seconds later advised “we have found it”. After waiting another 30 minutes it arrived – we were underwhelmed – the pizza’s lacked any flavour and tasted like cardboard, and the chefs pie resembled more like soup in pastry. Both alcohol and food prices at The Riverhead are on a level with the viaduct but the service and quality/presentation of the food was well below what one expects from an eating establishment nowadays. In summary – over-priced and average food.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer TheRiv
27/04/2012
To all the people who ventured out to The Riverhead on the stunningly sunny and warm ANZAC day, Stephen and I would like to thank for being so understanding of the wait for food which occurred mainly between the hours of 1pm and 2pm. This was in fact the first midweek ANZAC day that we have been in operation and we certainly didn’t expect the volume of people that turned up. Being a destinational tavern we are aware that turning people away is very disappointing for them after making the trip and we tried to accommodate as many as possible. However many were still turned away at the door. We did however explain to guests once it was obvious that there was going to be a delay for food what to expect before they were seated. Our records showed that we processed just on1300 meals over the day which put our kitchen teams under extreme pressure, despite our recent kitchen extensions.
The majority of people where relaxed and enjoyed the atmosphere of the outside decks, but we are very aware that there was a long wait for some of the most popular dishes due to the sheer volume.
For the next fine Public Holiday we will limit the available seats in the restaurant and put on our usual Sunday Cook Shack option (BBQ Burgers, Chips & Salads) opening the Boat House to help alleviate the pressure.
We would also like to thank our amazing staff who dealt with the volume and the pressure so well.
We unreservedly apologise to those who booked and got caught up in the delay…and we also would like to apologise for not getting around everyone to explain the difficulty we were having.
We accept that we will be continually looking at quality improvement to ensure that every aspect of The Riverhead meets the expectation of those who chose to visit us.
- Report
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer ciara99
26/04/2012
Had lunch with teenage kids and friends at a booked table at the Riverhead for Anzac Day. The waitress was great but we were not happy at all about the two hour wait for three pizzas and two fish and chips. To make matters worse, people who arrived and ordered after us had their meals and most of them had paid and left before we got ours! Would have been OK if the manager had come to apologise, offer the kids some fries while waiting, given us a free drink or something. If you are going to charge 15% surcharge on a public holiday then it really needs to be a great experience.
The surroundings at the Riverhead are amazing, but given the location, thats not hard. Food was OK when it arrived but to be honest we were so hungry by then, we would have been happy to eat anything.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Mitch13
27/01/2012
First visit to The Riverhead and we will definately be back. When we arrived we were greeted warmly and shown to our table. The waiting staff were friendly and attentive. The menu provided an option for every pocket. The food was outstanding. We all were more than happy with our mains. The fish was fresh and cooked just right. Deserts were divine. I recommend Nana Chapman’s Bread & Butter Pudding, it was amazing and so light. It was a lovely evening with great wine, food and company. We'll visit the Riverhead again soon.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer ChrissyE
12/01/2012
Just had a fantastic lunch with friends at the Riverhead on one of January's first fine days. Beautiful setting, lots of atmosphere and great food. So nice to get out of the city to something different. Been here a few times but just had to write a review this time because it was soooooo good!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer RobynS
6/01/2012
What a fantastic place The Riverhead is! We have just had another fantastic experience there - great atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, food to die for and what has to be one of the most picturesque places to dine. Each time we have been there the experience has been wonderfully consistent. Loving it more each time - we will be back!
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Nickwyld
1/01/2012
The Riverhead has great staff and surroundings. Food was average and expensive.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer CarrieW
7/12/2011
Just come back from a Christmas Do at the Riverhead. Arrived by boat which was great and the venue was lovely. The food however was a real disappointment - bland and unimaginative. We paid for the whole boat/meal package, so I don't know what proportion related to the meal costs but it was poor whatever it cost. The tables were not cleared after the main course and we ate our sweet at a cluttered table. It's such a shame it's perfect opportunity to really sell the Riverhead to 40 people who will come back again and again, but they've put most of us off.
Gorgeous venue - need to do much better with food and service.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer TheRiv
29/12/2011
Hi Carrie,It's a real disappointment to hear that your visit to The Riverhead was less than perfect. We certainly strive to provide tasty & inspiring food even when served in a buffet style. The staff are usually very efficient and friendly bringing personality to a busy job.Over the Christmas period we have been essentially booked out with Christmas parties coming both boat and by road.We have had some amazing feedback from some of the people via email who have come up here in large groups, a few comments follow:Hi there to all the lovely staff that looked after us on Friday. Patiently allowing us to move tables, catering for our vegetarians and being spot on with orders.Please convey our appreciation to all those on duty. We had a lovely time, so many thanks. Kind RegardsJune Thank you so much for all your information, you've just been amazing - talk about the best customer service and from one in the hospitality industry myself, it is a joy to deal with you, thank you!JaneJust a small note to say THANK YOU for the wonderful meal you provided for us on Friday. It was really special and we had such a great time.Thanks,KarenMany thanks for the awesome night.The food and service were tip top. Kind regards PatThanks for a great afternoon, many people expressed how impressed they were with the venue, we will certainly be returning in the future, and recommending the Riverhead to friends.Regards, NicolaI wanted to tell that everyone had a great time last night. The buffet was delicious and enjoyed by us all.We will certainly come back to The Riverhead. Looking forward to your Sunday afternoon live music gigs too.Have a Merry Christmas and thanks again.RegardsWendyIf you are not happy the service or standard of food you receive at The Riverhead, it would be helpful to contact us directly via our website www.theriverhead.co.nz. By contacting us directly, we can address your specific concerns & it will help - Report
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer cmonthebay
24/04/2011
love the new version of the Riverhead - waited with baited breath for it to open and think the rendition is just perfect. Noted on a few of the reviews that service was iffy - the two times I've been to the riverhead found the service to be fine - maybe teething issues? Taking some pom friends up that way during the week so I'm sure the riverhead will make it onto the itinerary
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer superhotcool
2/04/2011
Went there recently for a Coffee during the day after a Fun Run and found the staff super-friendly and very professional. Lovely out door area over looking the water and make sure you take a walk down to new wharf pontoon area. Love the weathered copper artwork and decor and my sister thought the women toilets were beautiful. Well worth a visit for drink or bite to eat if, you happen to be visiting in the area, which we hope to do in the very near future.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer snazzy
20/03/2011
I have been to the newly renovated The Riverhead around 7 times since they re-opened. First up I don't know the owners but I have owned and run a successful restaurant in Ponsonby. My review of The Riverhead (my local) would be that they obviously had teething problems in the beginning, they were incredibly swamped for the first few weeks by us locals who were anxiously awaiting an alternative to our popular local Hallertau (of which I still visit) and once they finally opened their doors - we couldn't get there quick enough. They got hammered and it didn't let up. It was obvious the owners had not been in the hospitality industry before - but in their defence - their staff had and I would have expected some of those to put their hands up and create some good systems to help their Employers out - anyway it is slowly getting better. The owners obviously are aware that they have a big job on their hands and are taking good advice on board - I can see this in the recent improvements in service. So I'm off there again this afternoon because I think it's a wonderful venue, they have done a good job and I would like to keep it around for a long time, so I say - give them another go if you have been earlier - they are getting better and the venue is stunning...
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer willowwisp
19/03/2011
Great setting & atmosphere. Sat outside on the deck overlooking the river where we could see the boats & ferry come & go. Food was great, service a little slow but it was a relatively busy night. Loved how the owners gave us a little mini tour when they noted our interest in the history of the place. Wishing you guys the best, hope it does well. We will be back!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer dougall
14/03/2011
I went to the Riverhead tavern for my birthday and thought it was wonderful, the food was beautiful and the service was fantastic.
I think it is amazing what the lovely owners have done, and we should be grateful to have country taverns such as this so close to Auckland.
The setting and the ambience are second to none, and I cant wait to go back.
Rather than writing negative reviews, people should be supporting and thanking the owners for the amazing job that they have done with this historic tavern.
User icon
StarNo StarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Anonymous
4/03/2011
Interesting reading other reviews. We were really excited to see the old Riverhead open, nice new decor etc. We took our family for dinner (4), it was the very worst experience we have ever had at any restaurant. It was only a Tuesday and we booked. The drinks order came fine (we ordered at the bar), we waited an hour for our entree to arrive, about 30 minutes later 2 of us got a main course, these were FINISHED and the other two were no-where to be seen. Apparently we had the wrong meals (they were busy as had a table of 10 outside!!). I was so angry I refused to pay for my meal, when it finally arrived I ordered a glass of wine (we had finished our drinks by this time), and was asked 'ARE YOU GOING TO PAY FOR THAT". That's when I walked out. We are so disappointed as it is very local to us and has great historical value and we want to go back but . . .
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer TheRiv
12/03/2011
Thanks for posting your version of the events that evening, as it now gives me the chance to respond.
We have looked at the video footage of the service of your table and I am afraid your sense of timing is not accurate, the time waited was no where near the time you are quoting. The main issue was the delivery of someone else's meal as part of your order.
After coming to your table to explain and apologise repeatedly for making a genuine error, you continued to swear and abuse me. Although we gave you all 4 of your meals and a bottle of wine at no charge, this barrage continued with you using the 'f' word repeatedly. Later you called me back and said that 'she, referring to your wife, wanted more wine and I simply asked if you intended to pay for that?
This kind of behaviour is not welcome in the newly opened 'The Riverhead'. A genuine mistake was made, and we are working very hard on our systems to ensure that these kind of things do not reoccur.
You are not welcome at 'The Riverhead' after the language and attitude you exhibited on that night, so please it would be better if you did not come back. - Report
User icon
StarNo StarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer pinkone
3/03/2011
I had booked a romantic night in Riverhead with my partner so that we could try out the new look Riverhead. And what a disappointment. The service was appalling. It took 20 minutes for our drink order to arrive - so in the end I just went to the bar where all the staff was standing there chatting with one another. We had ordered a bottle of wine but received a glass - then they tried to bill us for the bottle. The food was just sooo bad it was a joke. Will never return I'm afraid - and it had such good potential!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer citykid
28/02/2011
Had a few drinks at The Riverhead on the way back from an afternoon's golf over the weekend with the boys. Had been here when it was the riverhead tavern and must admit the new incarnation is much, much nicer. Good gastro-pub food and even better thirst-quenching beer - can't be beaten!
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer what.the
27/02/2011
I agree with the last review- they reopened on the 14th feb we were there the following Friday and what bad service at 7.20 in the evening were told that they weren't taking any food orders they had enough-It wasn't even packed plenty of tables.-yes they will not survive with this service & yes when they say Tavern whilst they have nice new furniture- it is a just a westie tavern with lots of bikers and security required
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer TheRiv
12/03/2011

We have been totally overwhelmed by the turnout to 'The Riverhead'. My husband and I purchased the Riverhead Tavern which was in receivership, with a dubious reputation and we have been renovating it since. Having never been in the hospitality industry before it has been a steep learning curve and one which we had hoped would start slowly with us doing no advertising of the fact that we are now open. Overwhelming is the word because so many people have come out to support us and we have staggered under the pressure of getting a new business, new team, new systems...basically everything new running flawlessly.
The response to the new fit-out has been terrific and we would invite you to return... - Report
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
 
Nearest

What's near The Riverhead?

Below are the nearest 5 venues within 500 metres of The Riverhead.
Cinemas near The Riverhead (0)

Most Read Today

image
01 Christmas Lights and Displays in Auckland

Enjoy Christmas in Auckland under the glow of fest...

image
02 Auckland's Best Outlet Shops

We check out the five best spots for outlet shoppi...

image
03 Auckland's Best Playgrounds

The kids have spoken and we are pleased to present...

image
04 Auckland's Best Free Kids Activities

We check out the best five free kids activities in...

image
05 Auckland's Best Malls

Check out our picks of the top five malls in Auckl...

Content updated: 29/11/2014 01:04
 

Add Review

Latest Pubs & Bars User Reviews

  • Our Local
    Our Local, the best bar ever..hostess to the mostess great atmosp...

    Akura on 23/11/2014 @ 5:07 a.m.
  • Mikano Restaurant & Bar
    I'd aspired to eat at Mikano for some time. Unfortunately we pick...

    SarahK_LocalHero on 18/11/2014 @ 6:48 p.m.
  • Ostro Restaurant & Bar
    Had a wonderful night at Ostro with two of my friends. We were al...

    Georgina28 on 23/10/2014 @ 1:13 p.m.
  • My Bar
    Had my 21st birthday celebration here at My Bar, and it was a bla...

    Shindz on 19/10/2014 @ 5:49 p.m.
  • Meadow
    Made my first visit last afternoon and while it is great to have ...

    monteithstu on 17/10/2014 @ 9:40 a.m.
Hitwise Award Winner