The Elephant Wrestler

Our rating 

User rating 

19 reviews
Venue Image
138 Hurstmere Road,
Takapuna
Auckland,
0622

(09) 489 8030

Add a User Review for

The Elephant Wrestler
Add user review button
Add your own review of this pub / bar

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Ferrari
27/08/2013
Every Suburb needs a local pub and this place has defiently nailed it we have been here on several occassions and always found the place really welcoming
We were last here on Saturday to watch the rugby the place was really busy but we still managed to get a seat in front of the big screen we ordered drinks and food at the table and found the service to be really great and friendly
If your in Takapuna and want a drink at a friendly local make sure you check this place out
User icon
StarNo StarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer hanman
27/08/2013
Slack bar with rude staff that basically had no clue ! Disgusting toilets,very very average place.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer ellie138
30/08/2013
Hi Hanman,Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience with us. We're sorry to hear that you were displeased with our venue and staff. If you could email me through details of what happened when you were here, I'd really like to follow up on this to identify the issues and ensure that your experience will not be repeated.I look forward to hearing from you.Sincerely,Ellie MillerSales & Events Coordinatorevents@elephantwrestler.co.nz - Report
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer bigkt
15/05/2013
No doubt, The Elephant Wrestler is easily Takapuna's best bar with some good times to be had. It does attract a younger crowd than some of the other bars around but that's all good.
Their quiz nights are pretty popular too (Tuesdays). See you there!
User icon
StarNo StarNo StarNo StarNo Star
7/05/2013
Food was good but when we ordered a Salmon salad, a fish salad was delivered to the table.

The waitress has no clue what it was so went back to ask. Apparently they did not have salmon so it was just substituted with something else without bothering to ask.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer ellie138
8/05/2013
Thanks so much for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback.We’re really sorry about your experience here and hope that you'll accept our apologies for your meal: we're currently experiencing a few teething issues with our new menu that was launched in the last few days. Both our kitchen and wait staff are working really hard to learn it all and get things right, however we agree that we should have notified you regarding the menu substitute. I’m glad that despite this hiccup you enjoyed the food and hope you still had a great night out with us!We’d love to have you back: if you could email me (events@elephantwrestler.co.nz) I'd be happy to arrange this.Warm regards,Ellie MillerSales & Events Coordinator - Report
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer TIKASam
8/04/2013
If I'm heading out in Takapuna I'm heading to the Wrestler - a simple decision and a top shelf establishment. Paul & the Crew have created a beast!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer TIKASam
8/04/2013
If I'm heading out in Takapuna I'm heading to the Wrestler - a simple decision and a top shelf establishment. Paul & the Crew have created a beast!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
20/12/2012
Awesome food (generous portions), always a good crowd in here with a good vibe; no trouble. The waitstaff are great craic and you can't beat the courtyard on a sunny day! Huge range of drinks, even my notoriously fussy brother was impressed. Will keep going back for sure.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
13/08/2012
caught up with a few friends at the elephant wrestler on saturday night just been. the weather was shocking so it was pretty crammed with people escaping the rain but we managed to get a booth seat for a feed and a few drinks. burgers were really good - the chorizo one awesome and the fries were just what was needed to soak up the days drinks.
Good atmosphere too - especially as nz picked up its 5th gold. Certainly Elephant Wrestler is one of the better bars in Takapuna - here's hoping for not too many stormy nights like that one though.
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.

Archive

View past user reviews for this venue/film.
 

Most Read Today

image
01 Rainy Day Ideas in Auckland

Use these ideas to get you started, and the kids m...

image
02 Auckland's Best Malls

Check out our picks of the top five malls in Auckl...

image
03 List With Us!

Get your venue or event listed with View New Zeala...

image
04 Auckland's Best Free Kids Activities

We check out the best five free kids activities in...

image
05 Auckland's Best Swimming Pools

We have a look at five heated swimming pool comple...

Content updated: 17/04/2014 17:08
 

Auckland Venue Hire

Latest Pubs & Bars User Reviews

  • French Cafe
    Can I just say this was the best Fine Dining experience ever! ...

    shapur14 on 17/04/2014 @ 11:52 a.m.
  • Coco's Cantina
    If you want a table at Coco's, show up early. When we got there a...

    Chiana_Local_Hero on 7/04/2014 @ 4:55 p.m.
  • Doolan Brothers Newmarket
    More wings than a flock of sparrows Not sparrow wings though ,...

    Michael42 on 7/04/2014 @ 2:36 p.m.
  • Blankenberge Belgian Beer Cafe
    Visited Blankenberge on a Wednesday lunchtime to take advantage o...

    LisaS_LocalHero on 4/04/2014 @ 9:35 a.m.
  • Chop Chop Noodle House
    Well first off, Chop chop Noodle house is super busy all the time...

    Terri_LocalHero on 31/03/2014 @ 2:47 p.m.
Hitwise Award Winner