Up In The Air (M)

Film image

User Reviews

Up In The Air
Add your own review for
Sort By:
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer citykid
4/07/2010
Caught Up In The Air on dvd and must say I enjoyed it immensely. Touchy subject in this economic climate so it was more a drama than a comedy in my opinion.
Fans of the 'Silver Fox' will be happy - the on screen chemistry between Vera Farmiga (who has got a hot body btw for an 'older woman' and George Clooney is certainly one of the highlights.
Up In the Air is highly recommended.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer daved
3/07/2010
After much hype this comedy threw out a few sad notes by surprise.
Moments of reflection but lacking in general humour made it an average watch for me. Enjoyed Clooney as usual and a new spin option on the story line.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Moose
15/04/2010
Good entertainment, especially if you like George Clooney who was his usual vibrant and entertaining self despite playing a corporate hitman...

This film is quite topical since it deals with firing and redundancies...and gives a glimpse into the personal aspect of companies when they restructure i.e. the workers on the receiving end of the bad news that they have just lost their jobs.

I liked the premise of the film, and enjoyed it end to end.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Yvonne Borich
19/02/2010
Great movie! Has a bit of everything to satisfy one & all. Anna Kendrick held her own, alongside George Clooney & Vera Farmiga & will be one to keep your eye out for in the future.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer shessassy
16/02/2010
I'm not the biggest George Clooney fan in the world, and I had no idea what the film was about, but I was pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed the film. As someone with no intention of getting married, or having children, and a somewhat large collection of "loyalty" cards (if not the actual loyalty, or air miles of George's character), there were definitely aspects of the film I could relate to.

Of course, the journey this film takes you on challenges those views a little. This film is uplifting in an odd way (unless you've just lost your job in which case, you should avoid it like the plague).

Now, if you're morally opposed to product placement in films, then this isn't the film for you. There's a lot of it. I believe it's been placed in the "comedy" box, but don't expect lots of laughs. Worth watching, I think.
User icon
StarNo StarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Reed Marshall
11/02/2010
Predictable & boring, well acted but not my sort of film, was made to go with the wife, i think Clooneys a bit over rated.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer chrissieh
19/01/2010
George Clooney is worth the admission price alone - I say him in Rome on the set of one of the 'Oceans' films - I think it was Twelve - and he's even better looking in the flesh.
Like a good wine, this silver-fox is getting better as the years roll on!
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Joanne6952
15/01/2010
Being a huge George Clooney fan maybe I'm a bit biased - but I thought it was a great movie. It has a kind of predictable story line in parts and is definitely a good chick flick.
So worth seeing
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer asylum99
12/01/2010
Jason Reitman continues to deliver dramedy gold with Up In The Air. Following his critically lauded Thank You For Smoking and Juno, the director has hit a golden patch of great cinema. Clooney is solid as always playing another variation of himself but the film shines with it's ensemble and eclectic cast including kiwi Melanie Lynskey as Clooney's estranged sister. A punchy and extremely relevant script exceptionally delivered make Up In The Air a great watch.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer chalkie
11/01/2010
Thanks for the free preview screening View!

LOVED this movie, and as usual George Clooney delivers. Had me engaged from start to finish! Well worth seeing this movie.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer chalkie
11/01/2010
Thanks for the free preview screening View!

LOVED this movie, and as usual George Clooney delivers. Had me engaged from start to finish! Well worth seeing this movie.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer mrsmushy
11/01/2010
Very good movie. Always nice to look at George. Had very indepth meaning if you wanted to think about life more and really appreciate life. Lovely story indeed. Really enjoyed it. Maybe a girl flick.
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
image
02 The Kitchen (tbc)

Melissa McCarthy, Tiffany Haddish, Elisabeth Moss,...

image
03 Blinded By The Light (tbc)

Viveik Kalra, Nell Williams, Hayley Atwell, Kulvin...

image
04 2040 (tbc)

image
05 The Vanishing (tbc)

Peter Mullan, Gerard Butler, Emma King

Content updated: 16/09/2019 19:27

Engage

Connect

Hitwise Award Winner