The Silver Linings Playbook (M)

Film image

User Reviews

The Silver Linings Playbook
Add your own review for
Sort By:
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Lisa80
10/02/2013
This movie is full of laughs and gives a different perspective and insight to mental illness. Excellent movie and great cast.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Rebecca Hill
4/02/2013
Apart from the fact I love, Bradley Cooper, this was a thoroughly njoyable movie. Brilliant acting, great story line and beautiful directing. My husband also enjoyed it and there were some fantastic laugh out loud moments. Only downside would be it was a touch too long at 2 hours, bu otherwise a great movie.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer bluelady
3/02/2013
The trailer did not do this film justice. It's not about dance or a person surviving mental health problems, its about living life to its fullest. I loved this movie and although the beginning may not seem that promising it is worth hanging out to the end. This is not a chick flick although it may seem like it is from the trailer. Yes it is a romantic comedy but guys would enjoy it as well as it covers both female and male perspectives on different issues. Mental health affects us all at different times of our lives whether it be ourselves or family/friends so it is great to see a movie that handles the topic sensitively yet with depth and understanding. I enjoyed this movie unexpectedly as did my companion and I believe it is a must see movie for this year.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer CocoL
3/02/2013
Silver Linings Playbook: THE most wonderful, deeply charming & darkly, gut-bustingly funny film. Ever.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Anonymous
31/01/2013
I LOVED this movie! I really didn't go along thinking it would be so great - but was so pleasantly surprised, I'm going back to see it again! This will be one of my "go-to" movies!
I hadn't seen Jennifer Lawrence - I was more interested in the handsome Bradley Cooper, but I now have a massive fan cruse on Jennifer, her timing was perfect!
Dealing with such a sensitive topic as well can't be easy - they weren't making fun of mental illness, instead to me, it shows we're all a little bit crazy with all our own idiosyncrasies!
Totally adored this movie - if you need a laugh you really must see it. And lads don't be put off with the "rom-com" title - it's def not the typical romantic movie, the males in our audience loved it too!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
31/01/2013
Really enjoyed Silver Linings Playbook - it was a nice departure from the usual rom-com, as the characters were flawed and unpredictable. There is both laugh out loud comedy and also very full on scenes that deal with sensitive subject matter, which all keeps you glued to the screen for the entire movie. The direction and acting is all great, and besides, it stars Bradley Cooper so it's pretty easy to watch!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Alice Kwok
31/01/2013
Absolutely loved the film. Goes to show that there is always a light at the end of the tunnel. It's about how you view life.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer dprelcablu
30/01/2013
Perfect in a wa that you could connect to the very similar situations. My partner & I thoroughly enjoyed this movie although it is not usually our normal genre we like to watch. It was very flattering & had a link to reality rather than the made up stories hollywood always come up with. Nice & thank-you viewauckland for the prize win!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer TroyRF
30/01/2013
An instant classic. The Silver Linings Playbook is built on the strength of a great cast and thoughtful direction, and the developing relationship between Bradley Cooper's Pat and Jennifer Lawrence's Tiffany is a privilege to witness.

It takes skill and guts to deliver a film that necessarily must be as bipolar as the condition which torments Pat in the wake of his marriage's unexpected end. The result is an unconventional journey that detours from despair to hope in the blink of an eye.

The Silver Linings Playbook distinguishes itself by telling a simple story with flattering complexity, and handles issues of mental disorder and the struggles they bring with grace, respect, and maturity.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer SimonB
30/01/2013
Great movie , enjoyed it much more than I thought I would , laughed heaps, a little bit of crazyness is good for the soul and probably in all of us....
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Agnes
30/01/2013
This is a brilliant movie, one of Bradley Coopers best with a great star cast around him. The story held our attention from start to finish full of humour and drama at its best.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Agnes
30/01/2013
This is a brilliant movie, one of Bradley Coopers best with a great star cast around him. The story held our attention from start to finish full of humour and drama at its best.
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
image
02 The Kitchen (tbc)

Melissa McCarthy, Tiffany Haddish, Elisabeth Moss,...

image
03 Blinded By The Light (tbc)

Viveik Kalra, Nell Williams, Hayley Atwell, Kulvin...

image
04 2040 (tbc)

image
05 The Vanishing (tbc)

Peter Mullan, Gerard Butler, Emma King

Content updated: 18/10/2019 23:00

Engage

Connect

Hitwise Award Winner