She's Out of My League (R16)

Film image

User Reviews

She's Out of My League
Add your own review for
Sort By:
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer mattdeevee
26/04/2010
She’s Out Of My League (Comedy/ “Guy Flick”)

Basic premise: Based on the principle of the “1-10 point hotness scale”, a guy who’s a 5 (Baruchel) starts dating a girl (Eve) who’s a 10; however, everyone knows that a 5 point difference in the hotness scale is going to have its’ complications.

Main cast: Jay Baruchal (Tropic Thunder), Alice Eve (Starter for 10), T.J. Miller (Cloverfield), Krysten Ritter (Confessions of a Shopaholic), Nate Torrence (Get Smart) and Mike Vogel (Poseidon)

What I wanted out of the film: Quite simply, I wanted to laugh. I had seen the trailer and read a few articles on the movie and it looked really funny.

My rating: 4 Stars; The reason this movie was so great for me was because even the most minor characters had pretty awesome dialogue (and often hilariously awkward facial expressions). The actors are all up and coming Hollywood A-listers and have definitely given themselves a strong career boost with this movie. Baruchel, whom I’ve never particularly thought much of in the past (simply because he is always a minor character in his roles), was very convincing as an average guy who has the hots for a girl that is obviously out of his league (according to modern day society), whilst Eve had every guy in my audience drooling over her throughout the movie. Once again, the plot itself wasn’t extremely original but the witty repartee between the characters made the movie stand out on its’ own as one of my favourite comedies of 2010.

Target audience/rating: General Audience and Guys/4 Stars

You’ll like this if you liked: The Hangover, I Love You Man

***Note: Soundtrack Recommended
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer KarateKid
18/04/2010
Didn't have high expectations for this film but found it was a good light film for when you are after a bit of a laugh. Felt it was pretty similar to the American Pie films so if you are in to that sort of thing this is right up your alley.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer catlover2
15/04/2010
Highly recommend this movie, funny, entertaining but also with depth
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Niques
15/04/2010
Love it!! Very funny movie, I will definately watch it again and no doubt laugh as much as i did the first time!!!
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer s4d
7/04/2010
I was expecting the usual teen movie, While it has the usual cliches, it was actually pretty good, Funny cast and that was reflected in the movie, It was worth while going to see however a bit over shadowed with some real big hits at the Cinemas at the moment that may be more worthwhile going to see.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Mel77
6/04/2010
Had a great laugh at this and I'm not normally one to laugh out loud at movies. Not the most original storyline but the comedy factor made up for it. Great to take your girlfriends to for a funny night.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Linus1971
5/04/2010
This is a great American comedy! There was lots of laughter from the audience - me included. I did think some of the use of "f" word was a little overboard (more so since I had invited my my Mum, near 80 year old neighbour and teenage friend...). Definately recommend to others needing a good, light hearted, chick flick.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Beth
5/04/2010
Lighthearted & funny moive. With a nice message. If you don't mind hearing the f word often - a good movie with lots of laughs!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer mrsmushy
5/04/2010
I thought this was the funniest movie I have seen for ages. I laughed so much. Love it so much indeed. Very light movie. The main lady was beautiful. Such a huge laugh.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Trays
5/04/2010
Having not seen any of the lead characters in other films I really wasn't sure what to expect. The trailers promised fun and laughs but sometimes you've seen the best parts of the movie in the trailer. This shouldn't disappoint though .. its funny and whilst the plot is predicatable there is enough humour around the stereotypes to keep you giggling all the way through. There are a couple of scenes that made me laugh and cringe at the same time ! Language is a little colourful right from the start so not for those easily offended. I'd definitely agree with the other reviewers comment about Mums .. don't take your son to see this .....
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Jess Cann
2/04/2010
What a lovely film. Definitely a romcom, but has twists and turns which make it that much better. Jay Baruchel usually takes supporting roles, such as in Freaks and Geeks, Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist and Knocked Up [I think] however he takes on the lead this time is does his job really well. The girl was alright but not as "out of his league" as you may expect. Highly recommended.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer brewerfamily
1/04/2010
Great movie for a good laugh. Funny from beginning to end. Really enjoyed it.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer chalkie
1/04/2010
Had a real laugh watching She's out of my League - a pleasant surprise - a lot funnier than I was expecting!
Probably wouldn't go with your son though Mums!!
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
image
01 Once Upon A Time In Hollywood (tbc)

Brad Pitt, Leonardo DiCaprio, Margot Robbie

image
02 Diego Maradona (tbc)

Diego Maradona

image
03 Maleficent: Mistress of Evil (tbc)

Angelina Jolie, Elle Fanning, Michelle Pfeiffer, C...

image
04 An Evening with Beverly Luff Linn (M)

Aubrey Plaza, Matt Berry, Jemaine Clement, Craig R...

Content updated: 27/05/2019 08:35

Engage

Connect

Hitwise Award Winner