Sherlock Holmes (M)

Film image

User Reviews

Sherlock Holmes
Add your own review for
Sort By:
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer sam lingman
25/03/2010
Good movie, having never watched or read about Sherlock Holmes before didn't really matter.

Robert downey junior makes this movie, he really gets into the role of Sherlock homes.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer naser12345
1/03/2010
Rachel McAdams is just wow.. The movie felt great, not only because it was but also because I used to read Sherlock Holmes comics when I was young and now finally a movie is made makes you remember the old days and it feels very good.

I'm very glad that it was made, and Rachel McAdams just completed the perfect picture.

User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
26/02/2010
Having not read any of the Sherlock Holmes novels I didn't really know what to expect but I thought the combination of Robert Downey Jr, Jude Law and Rachel McAdams was gold. I loved how Robert Downey Jr. brought an eclectic and cheeky persona to the role. He provided much light-hearted humour to what could have easily become a dark film.
There is a refreshing mixture of action, crime and comedy but with a hint of romance, although not enough to put off the men in the audience.
This is a good film to see on a Sunday evening when you need a lift before heading back to work on Monday.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer bigkt
24/01/2010
had the opportunity to go to Sherlock Holmes at a Gold Class cinema last night and must say I really did enjoy both the film and the experience in general.
Sherlock Holmes was easily one of the best films released in 2009 - and I thought it was Jude Law's best performance in quite some time. Guy Ritchies too for that matter.
Robert Downey Jr at his very best once again - he really is making quite the name for himself! Well recommended.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer irenemauga
23/01/2010
I like this film, i thought for Robert Downing Jnr whom i'm not a great fan of.....he really pulled this movie off.......he played the character really good.......as did jude law......the action was good....never really seen Robert in a action type of movie...good for him
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer shessassy
20/01/2010
Though I'm a lover of the classic Holmes stories (thanks to my parents), I loved this new, quirky and dark adaptation. It's fast and witty, and thoroughly enjoyable.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Anonymous
6/01/2010
Though I like Robert Downey, I found his Sherlock Holmes a terrible travesty. The whole ethos of Sherlock is cerebral, but this one with the explosions and the silly tricks made him an action hero and, frankly, we have enough of them................Boo!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer luverdance
1/01/2010
i really enjoyed this film is was kind of confusing but that was okay my brother took me and understood so he could explain to me. It had lots of action whick was great and i think my loved this movie!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer gcruz30
31/12/2009
I've enjoyed anything and everything with RDJ in it. I think the Sherlock Holmes character fits his persona to a tee. You can't be quite sure if he is in character or using his own personality as the model. I thoroughly enjoyed the movie and cannot wait for the sequel to come out. It should be great fun and in pure Sherlocke Holmes style. Bravo Robert Downey Jr, Jude Law and Guy Ritchie! Bravo!
User icon
StarNo StarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Anonymous
31/12/2009
Don't waste your time & money watching this film. As hard as I tried I could not make myself like this film. The intelligent wit you would expect is completely absent. The plot is weak, the action scenes are drawn out and boring, and there is no depth to any of the characters. The scenery was intereting and the camera work was impressive but the writing and directing were very disappointing.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer SamWard
22/12/2009
Downey Jr was classic in this film, ably assisted by Jude Law and to a lesser degree Rachel McAdams, always a treat when she is in the film.

It was a rare case of the movie trailer not giving huge amounts away so the mystery involved was great and the quirkiness of the actors made it easy to buy into. At times I was wondering where the storyline was going but I was possibly tired at the time and not on my 'A' game. Highlights for me included the fight scenes purely because they were outside the square. Holmes headspace was unique and interesting to follow and the storyline wrapped up nicely at the end which is what you would expect from movie about a detective and his exploits. There was some good humour involved and while it was a tad long, it was very enjoyable.

Ill certainly watch it again and may even be sucked into the sequel should one ever surface.
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
image
01 Maleficent: Mistress of Evil (tbc)

Angelina Jolie, Elle Fanning, Michelle Pfeiffer, C...

image
02 An Evening with Beverly Luff Linn (M)

Aubrey Plaza, Matt Berry, Jemaine Clement, Craig R...

image
04 Backtrace (tbc)

Sylvester Stallone, Matthew Modine, Ryan Guzman

image
05 Custody (Jusqu'à la Garde) (M)

Léa Drucker, Denis Ménochet, Thomas Gioria

Content updated: 19/05/2019 21:32

Engage

Connect

Hitwise Award Winner