Rango (PG)

Film image

User Reviews

Rango
Add your own review for
Sort By:
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer superhotcool
13/04/2011
Rango is an enjoyable film but is definitely adult orientated so the kids might not enjoy it as much. I love Westerns and this would be my first Cartoon Western I have seen at a Cinema so I liked it even more for the genre. Johnny Depp is always a good reason to go and see a movie and rest of actors do a good job with their characters. The odd jokes appealed to my sense of humor May be leave the kids with the grand parents and take yourself to see this movie as your holiday treat.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Kim Reilly
13/04/2011
We took our three daughters (7yrs, 5yrs,3yrs) and they all enjoyed it enough but didn't rave about it like they did with Tangled and Toy Story 3. I had been worried it may have been too scary in places for my scaredy-cat daughter, but they all survived it. A lot of humour and parody for us parents and great effects and an interesting voice casting for the characters. I think we got more out of it than the kids but still an enjoyable watch for families.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer ayngela
13/04/2011
Love love loved Rango!! It is such a great movie! I like animated family films but have found that alot of the recent ones have been a bit boring and unfunny. Rango is different to these though. It is very funny, has great (and very odd looking!) characters and a lovely storyline. Johnny Depp's voice suited the character of Rango perfectly. I would definitely recommend going to see Rango! It is a great family film the kids will enjoy and so will Mum, Dad and even Grandma!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer ayngela
13/04/2011
Love love loved Rango!! It is such a great movie! I like animated family films but have found that alot of the recent ones have been a bit boring and unfunny. Rango is different to these though. It is very funny, has great (and very odd looking!) characters and a lovely storyline. Johnny Depp's voice suited the character of Rango perfectly. I would definitely recommend going to see Rango! It is a great family film the kids will enjoy and so will Mum, Dad and even Grandma!
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
13/04/2011
I took my two kids to see RANGO and I loved it! My six year old daughter enjoyed it, but didn't rave about it. My three year old son however, got totally lost, then bored and then very very distracting. I would recommend it for the older kids, not under 5's after my experience. Good laugh for the adults though.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Shoel Palli
13/04/2011
I saw this movie at Event Cinemas Newmarket. I had my wife and 2.5 year old son along for this.
My idea of this movie was that its a kids movie thats based off spaghetti westerns of the years gone by. While the movie had plenty of colour and gimmicks to prompt squals of laughter and excitement from my son, it was not a movie to capture his undivided attention. In short this is no Tangled/Kungfu panda. It is a true western, just told with CGI characters. The plot gets a bit cliched at times and you always know whats coming next. That said, its still worth a watch - just to see what Johnny Depp + Western looks like.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer jennys
13/04/2011
Saw this with 7 year old son and husband who both enjoyed. Good story line about Rango who was creating a new identity for himself and also the affects of water scarcity after it had been redirected. Refreshing to have a new plot that wasn't predictable. Good option for the kids this Easter!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer teko
13/04/2011
Best Kids Movie for Adults! Rango is a amazing tribute to a lost genre. it honestly has everything going for it, super characters, complex plot, and a deep knowledge of the genre it parodies without excluding the newer releases. It's intelligent without being alienating and exciting without being silly. Most importantly the kids love it!
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer sezb72
13/04/2011
Took my older boys to Rango (5 and nearly 7) and they didn't like it at all (and it didnt' do much for me either). Just wasn't that funny - kids didn't laugh at much (and later said it was scary in parts). Could be just our kids, they watched it but weren't excited by it or talking about parts of it afterwards. A bit disappointing really!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer trudy27
27/03/2011
Took my two kids to rango this morning. I really enjoyed it but unfortunately it didn't captivate my kids (3 and 5) for the majority of the film.
Some of the humour was definitely adult orientated and if rango was wearing a pirates outfit you could be mistaken for thinking you were watching pirates of the caribbean.
I really enjoyed it though - mr depp's charm shows no limitations
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer tactilefog
17/03/2011
Loved this quirky story about a hilarious little chameleon. Johnny Depp brings all of his weirdness and eccentricities to Rango and while I think a lot of the dialogue might go over the heads of kids they'll love it anyway!
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
image
01 Once Upon A Time In Hollywood (tbc)

Brad Pitt, Leonardo DiCaprio, Margot Robbie

image
02 Diego Maradona (tbc)

Diego Maradona

image
03 Maleficent: Mistress of Evil (tbc)

Angelina Jolie, Elle Fanning, Michelle Pfeiffer, C...

image
04 An Evening with Beverly Luff Linn (M)

Aubrey Plaza, Matt Berry, Jemaine Clement, Craig R...

Content updated: 27/05/2019 04:29

Engage

Connect

Hitwise Award Winner