Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief (M)

Film image

User Reviews

Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief
Add your own review for
Sort By:
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer catlover2
15/04/2010
Was pleasantly surprised at how much i enjoyed this movie. Time went quickly as I was totally absorbed in the movie. Great for young and old
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer lilhorn
15/04/2010
Awesome movie, thanks for the tickets. So much better than Clash of the titans
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
21/03/2010
I really enjoyed this movie and so did my kids. I haven't read the books but can see why they are grabbing attention. A pleasant surprise and a great mix of ancient and modern.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer RaglanH
4/03/2010
Fun fantastic fantasy taking you through a journey into the world of the
'The Greek Gods'... coming out of it with their morals buried inside you.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer mrsmushy
3/03/2010
This movie is a must see. Really enjoyed it so much. Great story and special effects. Not to scarey for kids but not for little kids. Love it.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
18/02/2010
Looks like a great movie will go and see this movie and tell my friends to come to...
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer rachym
15/02/2010
Awesome - thanks View! No expectations around the movie, but was pleasantly surprised. It entertained myself, my 3yr old & my 6 yr old. Move over Harry Potter!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer jemz
14/02/2010
Thanks for the screening View!!! Went to see Percy Jackson with my dad, and he absolutely loved it!. Great connection of Greek mythology with modern technology. Super story with lots of laughs for all ages. Looking forward to snag some tickets to the next screening. Thanks again!
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Ann Florian
11/02/2010
Took the family to see this movie aged between 6 and 60, we all enjoyed this action packed film, great entertainment for all.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Moose
11/02/2010
We went to see Percy Jackson without any great expectations, without having read the books, and without really even knowing what the movie was about.

We didn't expect much, after all, we had heard it was a "family" movie based on a "kids" book...and we are in our mid-thirties...

I have to say though that we were quite pleasantly surprised.

It was a good old fashioned "quest" adventure, the characters were likeable, and the movie has some familiar actors. I particularly liked the theme...mythology...and was glad to see some classic mythological monsters like Medusa, the Hydra and a Minotaur...which took me right back to my childhood [years as a teenager rolling dice playing Dungeons and Dragons ;)]...

There was plenty of action, we managed to suspend our disbelief and accept the storyline, and found ourselves quite absorbed in the adventure. It was also good to refresh my memory and learn a bit more about mythological characters...who knew that Zuess, Poseidon and Hades were brothers???

Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief is definitely worth watching, we enjoyed it a lot. Solid movie, good for adults and older children. Three stars.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Lisa Graham68
11/02/2010
Wow - feel kinda bad saying this but I found it kinda lame except for Uma Thurman. The dialogue between the main characters was so corny and when Percy wins the flag - lame!!! The Gods are just big - they have these really great effects and then the Gods are just big - I don't get it.

However my children are true consumers and absolutely loved it - Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief managed to keep them entertained the whole way through so that alone earns it 3 stars!!!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer brewerfamily
11/02/2010
Move over Harry Potter, Percy is here. A bit scarry for the younger ones but really entertaining. Spellbound throughout.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer P.J
10/02/2010
Took the kids to this one, wasn't expecting too much top be honest but was pleasantly surprised. My boys really enjoyed it, they thought the special effects were really cool. Incorporated some good educational elements too - I have been fielding questions about Greek mythology since!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer mike12
9/02/2010
Great entertainment. Great special effects and storyline. There was a hell of a lot crammed into the movie. My kids (11 & 8)thought some of the subplots were too short, ie the 3 'missions' to locate the pearls.

I wouldn't recommend that kids much younger than 8 should view this, as some of the action is pretty full on. I would suggest if you like the later Harry Potter movies then this is right up you alley.

We will definately be going to any sequels.

User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer lilhorn
9/02/2010
Awesome movie!!

I guarantee this will be at least a 3 and a half star for everyone, I learnt so much about Greek pathology.........this not making any less or more enjoyable however

A must see for everyone, movie buff or not
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Trays
8/02/2010
Clever introduction of Ancient Greek Mythology to a modern world. This is a really great family movie with hero's. Villains and other stereotypes that whilst predictable don't spoil the overall enjoyment of the movie. If you want a plausible story then this isn't it, but for entertainment, special effects and a modern fairytale journey, its awesome. My family really enjoyed it, my Son (9) thought the sword fights were cool and my daughter (7) thought the female lead was just the best. I should point out that some 7 year olds might not be as robust as mine and could find some of the monsters (Sirens and Furies) a bit scary. My husband and I thought the links to Greek mythology were a perfect way of bringing history, that is not very appealing to a modern generation, right up to date.
My favourite line in the film was definitely from Pierce Brosnan .. no longer James Bond .. now a horses 'ass' :-)
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer tryna
8/02/2010
Hi,
I had the privilege of seeing Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief at the special pre-screening yesterday. This was my first time at SKYCITY Albany and I must say; what a comfortable cinema, no need to keep your elbows clipped to your sides to avoid bumping the person next to you, nor do you have to get a numb hand from holding your ice cold large coke, because, the armrests have a holder for your drink! Wow!

Anyway, the movie, I think Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief is a perfect teenage flick, it has the hot looking lead actor Logan Lerman (Percy), the pretty girl Alexandra Daddario (Anabeth) and the witty comedian Brandon T Jackson (Grover); in fact, Grover kind of reminds me of Donkey in the movie Shrek.
Can't say I noticed any bad language and for the amount of violence there was little blood, but I think it can be a little scary for sensitive young children. My son of 19 and my husband enjoyed the action and special effects, I on the other hand as a mother of three, actually felt a little emotion stir in me when Anabeth finally met her mum and Percy and his father Poseidon connected. Soppy I know but I enjoyed it.
A great movie!
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer kbjb
8/02/2010
I went to the Wellington preview with my two boys (17 & 12). They'd both read the book and were keen to see it.

I have to say firstly, we all enjoyed it.

I liked the storyline, greek gods, demi-god children et al. The special effects were fantastic, the characters interesting, and the cameo appearences by the known stars was excellent, with Uma Turman definately stealing the show with a fantastic cameo as Medusa.

The young leads were a little too "high school musical-like" for my tastes and the plot and dialogue a little corny and cliched. But as a family movie suitable for all ages I'd have to say it was very good and did the book justice - although with a little more character development and better dialog between the young leads it could have been a little better. Still great fun though.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer s4d
8/02/2010
We went to see it last night (thanks to the guys here at View AKL) and it was pretty good, I'm not into these kind of movies, but i really enjoyed Percy Jackson, there was some good humor thrown in too!, well worth a watch!!!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer smiley12345
7/02/2010
I took my daughter, (6 1/2 years) niece (8years) and husband and even with our age differences we all enjoyed the movie the special effects great and the story line about the Greek gods was different for a change compared to whats on recently. my first impression with the name that it was going to be cheesy but it wasn't at all. I would recommend it to others to watch.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer shessassy
7/02/2010
Well, I just watched Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief at a special preview screening hosted by View Auckland. You know what? It's actually quite good!

I was a bit worried that it'd be a bit cheesy, with the young male lead having a hair cut rather like that kid in High School Musical, and the references I've seen in the media to this franchise being the "new Harry Potter". Now, it's not that I hold all that is Harry Potter dear, but that I have studiously avoided those books, movies, and didn't relish being tricked into delving in the world of teenage wizards. And thankfully, I wasn't!

I'm not sure why I appreciated a story about Greek gods and mythology more than the idea of wizardry (or those bloody elves and hobbits), but I did. It was clever, the sound effects were fantastic, and in amongst (surprisingly bloodless) battles and beheadings, and a trip to Las Vegas, and Hell, it is witty and actually rather charming. I probably won't rush out and read the books, but I will not mock my friends who do!

Yes, it starts out with a boy who doesn't fit in, with an absentee father, but don't expect any real life-lessons from this one. On the surface, sure, it's about fighting for what you believe in, loyalty, betrayal, war, and all that jazz. But once discovering his heritage and powers, things do come pretty easy for Percy and his mates. But that's OK. This is not deep meaningful cinema - it's an entertaining, non-challenging way to spend a couple of hours (perhaps with your kids, if you're that way inclined), and maybe kick-start or revive an interest in Classics.

There were a number of younger kids at the screening, and this surprised me - it's pretty intense in places (and probably not one for those with snake phobias), but there were no screams or audible tears, so I guess it wasn't traumatic!
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Dale Carnegie
7/02/2010
The movie follows the typical plot of teenage boy who doesn't fit suddenly finding that he is the son of a god and has special powers. And then of course, every single thing he does is effortless and successful.

However, the film has some very very good special effects, and does a good job of bringing in many diverse elements of Greek Mythology in order to create a good story. There is even a surprisingly skilled cast of actors. With a tightening up of the dialog and screen play, this could have been a very good movie. As it is, the characters are not developed, impossible feats are accomplished quite easily, and of course on the stroke of midnight everyone is happy again.

Overall, its a good way to spend a few hours, but don't expect this to be anywhere near the best movie you'll see this year.

The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
image
01 Blinded By The Light (tbc)

Viveik Kalra, Nell Williams, Hayley Atwell, Kulvin...

image
02 2040 (tbc)

image
03 The Vanishing (tbc)

Peter Mullan, Gerard Butler, Emma King

image
04 The Last Witness (tbc)

Alex Pettyfer, Robert Wieckiewicz, Talulah Riley

image
05 How To Talk To Girls At Parties (tbc)

Elle Fanning, Alex Sharp, Nicole Kidman

Content updated: 24/08/2019 15:38

Engage

Connect

Hitwise Award Winner