• Home  > 
  • Cinema  > 
  • Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole

Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole (PG)

Film image

User Reviews

Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole
Add user review button
Add your own review of this film

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer mikekt
24/10/2010
Legend of the Guardians demonstrates exactly why 3d films are becoming ever so popular. The detail and realism is second to none - makes the 'action' scenes really come to life and allows viewers to immerse themselves in the film - in the Legend of the Guardians case, irrespective of their age.
Good tale and kept the family entertained which is all one can ask for really.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Anonymous
6/10/2010
I can't rave enough about the Legend of the Guardians. I was lucky enough to go to the View Auckland screening of this film. I had never read nor heard about the books and apart from seeing the trailer a few times I didn't have much idea what the film was about.

I was quite significantly blown away. The film has an amazingly stellar cast including Ryan Kwanten, Hugo Weaving, Jim Sturgess, Geoffrey Rush, Sam Neil, Emily Barclay, Abbie Cornish, Emilie de Ravin and the lovely Helen Mirren. On top of that the graphics and 3D (the film is obviously made in 3D and one of the best 3d films i've seen to date) are incredible and really add to the overall effect of the film.

The story, while a little predictable in places, is told beautifully and the conclusion is left open for a sequel. Personally I hope there is a sequel. This is one film I would be happy to own on DVD and I recommend all to go and see this film on the big screen. It is money well spent.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
26/09/2010
Great show really enjoyed it, some good laughs, good story, good moral, just might see it again.

thank you
Paul
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer tmccabe1964
25/09/2010
Well I'm a kid at heart and this movie was a winner for me and the kids. I have to say the technology these days with 3D is second-to-none. The whole graphics of it are so life like that it has you oohing and ahhing over some of the scenery and action shots. We were very much 'entertained' and that is really what it's all about. I would just like to say a big thanks to Sonia Sutherland and the team at View NZ for giving us all the opportunity to have a great night out.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer brewerfamily
24/09/2010
I am not a fan of 3D movies, but this one is the best that I have seen. The graphics were spectacular, the owls appeared to be real. My children really enjoyed it and want to see it again.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
24/09/2010
Visually stunning, the 3D actually works for this movie unlike a few other offerings in the 3D movies that have been released lately. I would recommend this movie for the 8+ age group as the violence and complexity of language would probably scare or bore anyone younger.
Recommended for a school holiday boredom reliever
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer beetle70
24/09/2010
Great family movie, 8+, Once again great to see good triumphing over evil! Good graphics and animation, Great movie for boys
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Stephanie425
23/09/2010
Our family of two teenagers, mum and dad saw this film. We all enjoyed it immensely. Our 15 year old daughter says it is the best film she has ever seen and she can't wait to see it again.
She particularly loved the Owl City song. The film didn't follow the books very closely, and some of the characters in the film were different from the book. Parts of the story are a bit scary, so I wouldn't recommend it for younger children. But for tweens and teens it's brilliant! Absolutely great!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer KiwiJ
23/09/2010
Our group ranged in age from 5 to 72, and we all enjoyed the movie. My 11 year old niece was on the edge of her seat. Great animation, and a good story. Open to a Legends Part II methinks.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer San14
23/09/2010
Awesome Movie! Best animation skills used with brilliant 3D effects.
Loved it. Perfect plot. (:
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer kam110
23/09/2010
Loved it! 3D animation at its best and cuddliest. Adults and children alike could enjoy the spectacular imagery and family-friendly themes enjoyably depicted in this classic tale of good triumphing over evil.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer MWF
23/09/2010
First - Thanks for providing a break from the usual 'groundhog' daily/weekly routine, going to the movies as a family midweek was a really nice treat from the norm.

Having not heard anything about this movie previously, I was amazed by the awesome gfx and 3d effects and to add to that being in 3D, there were plenty of air grabbing moments by all. Not so sure if 3D works well for the whole movie, found it a bit of a strain on the eyes after a while, and think the ill fitting glass sizes for the kids doesn't help with keeping them engaged in the movie/storyline.

Your usual great kids movie filled with lots of colour, funny and memorable moments this film was NOT.

Definitely lacked funny parts for both kids and adults alike, the the storyline was pretty serious and hard to follow for the younger viewer. Found the Aussie accents just didn't do the characters and story line any justice.

I think it is definately a movie for boys from about 9yrs and up, as there are a few scary moments that my daughter (and myself) found a bit full on, especially as these start so close to the start of the movie.

Was missing light hearted moments, need more light moments and uplifting music - the most memorable thing I remember was the song by Owl City about mid way through.

Is worth seeing though for the gfx alone
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer KayBaker
23/09/2010
enjoyed my first 3D film immensely! there was a bit of ducking and diving going on (by me!) as not so used to feathers/water/fire flying near my face. the graphics were fantastic and definitely were discussion on the way home.
thought the film was going to be about a quest to find 'something' (well suppose it was in a way!) as not read the books so was a bit disconcerted at first to be watching 300 with owls. attention to detail was incredible.
loved the interaction between the bad guys when the brothers were kidnapped.
would not like to recommend for kids under 10.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
23/09/2010
Good movie, sons seemed to enjoy it, thought it was funny, although my daughter found it a little disturbing during the killing sessions.

A definite 3D movie, at times felt like grabing the little blue bird.

Thanks for the evening, great nite great way to end the week before school holiday's.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer KatieC
23/09/2010
We saw the Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole and thought it was fantastic!!! The Graphics were amazing- especially in 3D!! The characters had such great personalities and were fun to watch...

Whoever did the animation for this movie should be awarded...Man- you could see every little feather and every little water drop in full effect....it was so visually stimulating and kept our interest the entire movie....I would definitely recommend this to anyone- even adults!

All three of us thought it was fun and something a bit different....also had good lessons in it. There was also some humour in it which was also a plus.

User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Preet
23/09/2010
The movie was too good. we watched it yesterday . Though I am not fond of animated movies, I really enjoyed the Legend of the Guardians from start to end! the graphics are superb!!!! My boys and friends too enjoyed the movie!!!
Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole is a must watch movie!
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer mtautua
23/09/2010
I attended this movie with 10, 8 and 4yr old boys and 5 and 4yr old girls.
Whilst the gfx and 3d effects were amazing and definitely deserving of 5stars, I personally didn't enjoy the movie. The 2 older boys were engaged the whole time but I doubt they'll be talking about it and playing imaginary games about the characters or asking for movie themed toys for Xmas.

The 5yr old and 4yr olds weren't too interested and found themselves either falling asleep or playing with eachother, despite the cleverly purchased refreshments to try and keep them occupied.

Personally I would be happy to have waited for it to come out on TV or even miss it all together. It just lacked that defining moment that all good movies have like Lion King had the opening sunrise song and Toy Story has buzz lightyears "To infinity and beyond". This movie just didn't have anything memorable and even when we all went home together and had a late night tea, no one even seemed to mention the movie that we had just seen, as though there were no really funny or sad parts to talk about.

I feel for a kids movie it lacked enough funny parts for the kids and the storyline was too serious or maybe boring.
I think it is definitely a boys movie 8yrs and up, parents will struggle trying to keep anyone else seated and watching the movie.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Anonymous
6/10/2010
Are you sure we are talking about the same movie?
This is a GREAT kids movie, but only for those 8+ (girls included).
I wouldn't be taking my 4 and 5 year olds to it in the first place and that is reflected in the PG rating. Kids of that age should only be going to G rated movies.
Compared to some of the other kids movies out, the story line is excellent and is visually amazing. All the kids around me were talking of the story animatedly while leaving the theatre.
I think for girls and boys 8+ this is an excellent movie and I myself would also be very happy to be given the DVD for Christmas. - Report
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer mtautua
6/10/2010
Hi sam,

yes same movie. As i said the 3D effects deserved 5stars hands down, but the movie lacked humour. The only funny part I can remember is the owl singing in the tree?
I can't remember anything I would go home and talk about except that the 3D effects were great. I felt this movie in 2D would've been quite a disappointment to watch. - Report
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Ama
23/09/2010
Great movie! A definite to watch in 3D as graphics are awesome.

Generally not a fan of animal-animated movie but after watching the trailer it was a must watch - and glad that I did.

I found that the boys enjoyed the movie way more than the girls because of the speed and the action. Loved the singing owl!

Must watch it with family! Can't wait for the sequel!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer NessLiddell
22/09/2010
Legend of the Guardians was a movie that I definitely wanted to see. I got a little emotional watching the trailer and I do not fare well watching animal movies whether “real” or “animated” and I expect this is probably due to being exposed to Bambi, Littlest Hobo etc. as a child. In saying that, that while this movie had a great deal of depth, it did not quite touch me as deeply as I had anticipated.

I have always found with children’s films that a lot of rather deep themes are covered, and they are well interwoven into the story. For the most part Legend of the Guardians was no exception.

The jealousy that Kludd felt toward Soren was evident from the outset. This jealousy was heightened by Kludd’s own insecurities i.e. learning to branch hop etc. and then feeling that he did not belong until he joined the Pure One’s where finally felt special.

Soren’s bond with his family, his friends and his belief in the Guardians already made him feel that he did belong and then Soren’s strength of character, courage and beliefs got him the rest of the way.

Soren’s belief in the existence of the Guardians as heroic, mythical owls is beautiful. My heart truly soared when Soren’s first glimpse of a Guardian is swooping down to save Digger. As Soren flies into the Guardian’s sanctuary/home, I truly felt his awe and wonder as reality began to intertwine the myth and his realisation that the Guardians were real. Soren and his strong band of friends were incredible. There were some beautiful poignant moments and some absolutely hilarious moments.

Because I am an adult, I could see the parallels between the Evil Pure One’s and Nazi Germany. I.e. having a “pure” race and turning the “un-pure” into mindless slaves.

I would recommend seeing this film in 3D as the graphics were absolutely incredible. At times I felt as though I could even reach out and stroke the soft, fluffy feathers of the baby owls.

Better for children 9 years +
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer mtautua
29/09/2010
Wow thats alot of memory recall, I found the movie so dry i couldn't remember a single name. i'm assuming by the amount of detail you managed to pick up, you didn't have to try and entertain any children that were bored and distracted like mine??

For children this movie was a definite flop, cos no one wants the DVD for Xmas - Report
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
image
01 Back to the Future (PG)

Michael J. Fox, Christopher Lloyd, Lea Thompson

image
02 Pride (tbc)

Bill Nighy, Dominic West, Andrew Scott, Imelda Sta...

image
03 We Are The Best! (Vi Ar Bast!) (R13)

Mira Barkhammar, Mira Grosin, Liv LeMoyne, Johan L...

image
04 Siddharth (tbc)

Rajesh Tailang, Tannishtha Chatterjee, Anurag Aror...

image
05 Let's Be Cops (tbc)

Damon Wayans Jr., Jake Johnson, Nina Dobrev, James...

Content updated: 01/10/2014 23:14
 

Engage

At The Flicks

Connect

Hitwise Award Winner