Invictus (PG)

Film image

User Reviews

Invictus
Add your own review for
Sort By:
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer pohutukawa
18/02/2010
This movie was amazing, the dramatization was great, it was like I got to know Nelson Mandela without meeting him. Would totally recommend this movie. Great actors, great storyline.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer irenemauga
12/02/2010
This movie was amazing......Morgan Freeman was amazing...his acting was outstanding.....as was Matt Damon......I liked how the storyline was to try and see it from Nelson Mandellas view.......to try and bring South Africa together.......as one....
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Reed Marshall
11/02/2010
a very well diected film, when you think about it it must of been hard to film rugby footage like that, & what an amazing man Nelson was & also great actors playing the leading roles.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer mrsmushy
7/02/2010
Thought the casting of Morgan Freeman was brilliant and Matt Damon did a greatt job, this was an enjoyable movie, and I learnt quite a bit about tMandelaela era in SA that I have not seen before. Overall I though it was a good effort by Clint Eastwood to do a film like this of which tAmericansans would not normally venture into a story of this background.
I have seen comments as to the rugby side of this and how realistic it is but if you can see past this makes for an enjoyable watch and is good to see a very different story line.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer scottie
29/01/2010
Invictus was not what I expected!. Clint, Damon and Freeman with a good story should have been gold. Was instead just like the AB's World Cup efforts.......a let down. Think Eastwood needs to steer clear of this style. Should have been up there with Remember the Titans but fell well short.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Trays
26/01/2010
A familiar story but told from a new angle. Morgan Freeman plays an excellent part as Nelson Mandela and captures the personality of the great man very well. Matt Damon whilst not physically a match for Pienaar makes a good job of conveying the personality and calibre of a great rugby player who finds himself centre stage in a pivotal point in South Africa's journey to unity. Well worth a viewing , even if your aren't a particular rugby fan.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
26/01/2010
Good drama with the rugby almost being secondary - and with a tale like that, the All Blacks didn't have any chance of winning did they! I think Morgan Freeman was brilliantly cast as Nelson Mandela and Matt Damon got the saffa accent spot in in my opinion. Invictus should be a hit in NZ without doubt.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Muppet
22/01/2010
Invictus had a well portrayed storyline really capturing the brilliant leadership of Mandela which was justly played by Morgan Freeman! This movie is always going to be an interesting for most New Zealanders as we have all read in the media bout the infamous "Suzy" and the tainted Milk which left 75% of the All Blacks not able to function at their full potential as in the lead up games......
If you put that all aside and focus in on the story you will enjoy the movie and Morgan Freeman's performance is worth attending alone. Matt Damon plays the role of Pienaar well but some of the script where he is trying to inspire players on the field could have had a second look over and tends to be a little "Cheezy" at times....
This is a movie that most people will enjoy rugby fans or not and would I would recommend checking out!!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer BootsOn
20/01/2010
Morgan Freeman was absolutely outstanding in playing the role as Mandela in this film. The actual Rugby scenes would always come under scrutiny by the avid Rugby Fan and there were some aspects that could have been better portrayed such as the squad of players being around 15 where it would have been 30 plus in real life.
I have recommended a number of friends to attend and would certainly watch this again! Check it out!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Wiremu
20/01/2010
Thank-you very much for the opportunity to attend this movie.
It was excellent up until the final whistle!!
I was aware of the political turmoil that S.A was experiencing before, during and after this tournament but didn't actually realise the significant impact that the occasion would have on their country especially as their leader,Nelson Mandela,expertly utilised the opportunity to galvanise a nation.
Excellent movie.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer aps
14/01/2010
With the big names of Freeman, Damon, and Eastwood involved had high expectations going to see Invictus. The first Rugby movie I had come across and a packed cinema showed that others shared my anticipation. Unfortunately, the movie did not quite deliver. A few good chuckles, but not quite the movie I had hoped for. Maybe Suzie poisoned Clint on this one.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer gianouts
14/01/2010
An excellent inspirational movie about Mandela unifying people. Good performances by Morgan Freeman and Matt Damon.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer cmonthebay
13/01/2010
Although this looks good, why oh why have they used Matt Damon for Francois - that midget just doesn't cut the mustard in this sort of role. They'd be better off using old Dolf Lundgren and let's face it, he could do with the pay check.
Looking forward to how much of the film is dedicated to ruggers and how much to the historical significance of the time.
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
image
02 The Kitchen (tbc)

Melissa McCarthy, Tiffany Haddish, Elisabeth Moss,...

image
03 Blinded By The Light (tbc)

Viveik Kalra, Nell Williams, Hayley Atwell, Kulvin...

image
04 2040 (tbc)

image
05 The Vanishing (tbc)

Peter Mullan, Gerard Butler, Emma King

Content updated: 07/12/2019 03:02

Engage

Connect

Hitwise Award Winner