Date Night (M)

Film image

User Reviews

Date Night
Add user review button
Add your own review of this film

Latest Reviews

User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer s4d
15/06/2010
I thought it was funny, but dragged on a bit and in some parts just a bit too unrealistic, however my Wife loved it, so guess its not that bad, worth a watch but only once =)
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer mattdeevee
26/04/2010
Date Night (Comedy/Action)

Basic premise: Phil and Claire Foster (Carell and Fey) are a happily married, albeit boring couple who decide to reinvigorate their married life by dining at the hippest restaurant in town. When the restaurant is fully booked, they decide to ‘live dangerously’ and take another couple’s table reservation; only, the couple who’s table they’ve taken have made some very dangerous people rather angry and through a case of mistaken identity the Fosters’ Date Night becomes wilder than they could have ever imagined.

Main cast: Tina Fey, Steve Carell, Mark Wahlberg, Taraji P. Henson; with great minor performances from James Franco (Pineapple Express), Mila Kunis (Forgetting Sarah Marshall), Leighton Meester (Gossip Girl) and William Fichtner (Prison Break).

What I wanted out of the film: Being a Tina Fey enthusiast (and admittedly a Carell fan) I was expecting a clever comedy with a strong storyline. I wanted to laugh… a lot!

My rating: 4 Stars; I am always extremely apprehensive about having high expectations of movies because I am almost always let down, however Date Night definitely lived up to my expectations. Whilst the basic storyline is not overly original it is carried off very well as there are several scenes that I was definitely not expecting (particularly because of the actors involved). Fey and Carell have spectacular chemistry which is often helped by their fantastic comic timing and they truly did seem like a married couple. There were also several great, almost cameo-like performances that provided many laughs; however, the biggest laughs were always at the expense of Fey and Carell’s rather hapless couple, The Fosters.

Target audience/rating: General audience (particularly married couples)/4 Stars

You’ll like this if you liked: The 40 Year Old Virgin, Get Smart, Baby Mama

*** Note: Stick around through the first part of the credits because some of the outtakes are hilarious.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Pebbles
19/04/2010
I found this movie really good, as I love Tina Fey. On the other hand I rather dislike Steve Carell, hence the lower review. It is an enjoyable experience if you are after a movie where you can just switch your brain off, but may just be worth spending your money seeing something else.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Niques
15/04/2010
Date Night is hands down the funniest I have seen in a long time!!! I loved it :)
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer lilhorn
15/04/2010
Great movie, laugh out loud funny most of the way through!! I had tears from so much laughing, go and see it even if you don't have kids cos its a comedy and you can still have a laugh even if you don't get the story.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Kathy Miln
13/04/2010
Fun and light hearted. If looking for a real plot with depth don't go but otherwise enjoyed it very much.

Thanks
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer abbottv
11/04/2010
Enjoyable movie with lots of laughs for both men and women. Thoroughly enjoyed the movie. Thanks for the tickets. Have already told friends to make sure they go along and see the movie and have a good laugh .
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Trays
9/04/2010
Funny film in places and had the promise of being really great but never really got there for me. I felt that you'd seen all the really funny bits in the trailers.

However for anyone who has battled to keep their relationship going when you've got kids and all the demands that brings, you will relate to a lot of the story and challenges the couple face. The chaos that ensues after they get mistaken for the 'Tripplehorns' is humourous but very predictable.

The car chase with a difference is funny though and almost (but not quite) makes up for the dreadful pole dancing scene ...

Humourous but very forgettable.



User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Ben De Haan
10/04/2010
Interesting - I thought the car chase was pretty lame and not funny but really enjoyed the rest of the movie - definitely recommended - especially if you're married with kids! - Report
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer sylvio
9/04/2010
Great movie with lots of laughs for both men and women. Thoroughly enjoyed the movie thanks for the tickets.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Spud
9/04/2010
Great Movie, the pair of Steve Carell and Tina Fey was casting at it's best!!! Will be telling friends to check this one out for sure!!!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Dharmesh
9/04/2010
What can I say? I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed the movie. Steve Carrell and Tina Fey made a great combination. Great level of consistent humour, a small mix of action and the story flowed well enough. I liked it, go see it!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer moviemichael
9/04/2010
'Date Night' is a well crafted, character-driven comedy; an example of how the Hollywood structure can be used to make great, funny comedies. Of course Steve Carell is brilliant but Tina Fey is the one who really shines, her timing is perfect and she has most of the best lines. There are plenty of well choreographed action scenes and tension is high because of your emotional connection with the characters.

The movie centers around a couple, whose marriage has fallen in to a rut, trying to have an exciting night on the town in New York City. The city really shines and much of the movie will feel familiar to those of us who live in an Auckland suburb and trek to the CBD for a dinner and a movie.

Near the end of the film things begin to seem a bit rushed but the overall it feels well edited and has a good pace so little distracts from the humour and the action. It really is the perfect length for the story it has to tell and it's a great date movie. 'Date Night' never relies on the gross-out comedy combined with overly cheesy tropes that many Judd Apatow movies fall back on. Instead the humour is character driven and witty.

The film way surpasses the number of hearty laughs you'd want from a comedy to warrant paying the money to see it in a theatre. That said the nature of the movie would probably not make it a movie to own on DVD.

A comedy with plenty of laughs, starring some of the best comedic actors alive at the top of their game.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer chalkie
9/04/2010
Had great laugh out loud moments - love Tina F & Steve C good movie for a date as well!
Need a laugh - go see this movie!!
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer PipBarling
9/04/2010
Also just got back from the ViewAuckland screening (cheers guys!) and really enjoyed the movie! Loads of LOL moments, good storyline and brilliantly acted by Steve Carell and Tina Fey. And definitely stay on for the gaffe reel at the end. Thanks VA!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer PipBarling
9/04/2010
Bugger - meant to give 4 stars, so this 5 stars should even things out a little! - Report
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer SuzieC
8/04/2010
Just got back from the ViewAuckland screening of Date Night - awesome time had by friends and I and we were both genuinely surprised by the laughs we had.
There's not a lot of LOL moments but if you like Steve Carrell's style of comedy you'll be well pleased. oh...and stay for the behind the scenes stuff - great.
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
image
01 The Two Faces of January (tbc)

Kirsten Dunst, Viggo Mortensen, Oscar Isaac, Yigit...

image
02 On My Way (tbc)

Catherine Deneuve, Nemo Schiffman, Gérard Garouste

image
03 Gone Girl (tbc)

Ben Affleck, Rosamund Pike, Neil Patrick Harris, T...

image
04 The Trip To Italy (tbc)

Rob Brydon, Steve Coogan, Michael Winterbottom

image
05 Soaked In Bleach (tbc)

Daniel Roebuck, Sarah Scott, Tyler Bryan, David Da...

Content updated: 24/04/2014 15:04
 

Engage

At The Flicks

Connect

Hitwise Award Winner