Boy (M)

Film image

User Reviews

Boy
Add your own review for
Sort By:
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
15/06/2010
Classic kiwi culture portrayed with our unique sense of humour. I think its a must see especially if you were a child of the 80s as there will be so much that you will identify with! Great film.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer s4d
15/06/2010
This movie was fantastic, very funny and sooo kiwi!, one of the best to come out of NZ, would recommend watching this movie!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer glasshalffull
2/05/2010
Boy is an absolute classic kiwi film and it's really great to see that the film lives up to it's hype.
The stars are great and Rocky and Boy really do steal the show and the imagery, soundtrack and storyline are all top notch.
All I can say is that it must have been great fun to make. A lot of kiwi humour that I'm not sure will translate overseas, but Boy is one of my movies of the year!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer pohutukawa
23/04/2010
Best movie I've seen in ages. Took me back to the 80's was around the same age the movie was relating to. Being part Maori, could totally relate, was in laughter throughout, even nearly cried, have recommended to everybody I know. Cant wait for the DVD.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer mattdeevee
19/04/2010
Boy (Comedy/Drama)

Basic premise: In 1984, Boy (Rolleston) has a life changing experience when his father (Waititi) re-enters his world; a world of Michael Jackson and dreams of a better life.

Main cast: James Rolleston, Taiki Waititi and Te Aho Aho Eketone-Whitu

My rating: 5 Stars; I REALLY wanted to like this movie and I DID! Not being a kiwi myself I was afraid that the humour might fly above my head… I was mistaken! Taiki Waititi equals brilliance. This man is at the forefront of the three things New Zealand films are all about; 1) they are quirky, 2) they are relevant, and most importantly 3) they have a heart. From the quirky character names (Alamein, Chardonnay, Rocky and Boy), excellent comic timing of every cast member, to the gripping storyline and fiercely emotional subplot this film delivers on every level. Be warned, as in life this film is not all Comedy and deals with complex family issues that are relevant to many people. You don’t have to be a kiwi to find the beauty in this film and I feel that it could be an international sensation! Boy oh boy I hope it is (excuse the pun). Sheer brilliance.

Target audience/rating: Anyone with a sense of humour and a heart/ 5 Stars

You’ll like this if you liked: Eagle Vs. Shark, Whale Rider, Once Were Warriors
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer KarateKid
18/04/2010
Absolutely bloody brilliant. Have recommended this to a bunch of people so far - this was a film I really enjoyed. A dark humour but I felt it said a lot about NZ. The kids were tops, hard to believe they aren't actors!! Loved Rockie in particular. Really enjoyed the pop culture from days of old...reminds me of when i was a young'un!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Anonymous
13/04/2010
Love it! It was a flick that we could all relate too. I am an American and lived in NZ over 2.5 yrs now and could relate because I am more familiar with the Kiwi culture but also I was an 80s kid, so that was more familiar and it crosses heaps of genres really. It was a great lesson as well as funny and love the witty one liners. Great acting and felt it was something that will be funny to others. Great when people can take the piss out of themselves...Loved it, run on out and see it.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Offshore
6/04/2010
Boy is an absolute must see for all New Zealanders! Clever Script, Brilliantly portrayed characters and some fantastic New Zealand Humour!
This will be a movie that appeals to all ages and will leave you leaving the cinema to tell all your friends they must attend!!!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Coral
2/04/2010
AWESOME!
Am going to see it again!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer 5angels
2/04/2010
Just took my 17, 15 and 8 yr old sons and my 6 yr old daughter to see "BOY" and it was brilliant! It has something for everyone and appeals to all ages for different reasons... I loved it for the memories it rekindled, absolutely awesome music! My older two boys loved the humour and music, and the younger two loved the colourful language and anything to do with Michael Jackson. It is great to see the revival of "Poi E"
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer striped_tiger
1/04/2010
Excellent excellent excellent
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
image
01 Distorted (tbc)

Christina Ricci, Brendan Fletcher, Vicellous Shann...

image
02 Billionaire Boys Club (tbc)

Ansel Elgort, Kevin Spacey, Taron Egerton

image
03 All The Devil's Men (tbc)

William Fichtner, Sylvia Hoeks, Milo Gibson

image
04 Between Land and Sea (tbc)

Shane Dorian, John McCarthy, Ollie O'Flaherty

image
05 Mega Time Squad (R13)

Jonny Brugh, Anton Tennet, Milo Cawthorne, Yoson A...

Content updated: 23/04/2019 13:04

Engage

Connect

Hitwise Award Winner