Alice in Wonderland (PG)

Film image

User Reviews

Alice in Wonderland
Add your own review for
Sort By:
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer citykid
25/09/2010
Watched Alice in Wonderland on dvd last night - despite what I've read (mostly average reviews), I was really surprised.
Graphics were amazing and thought the casting was spot on. Helena Bonham Carter was her brilliant best - I'm such a fan of her quirkiness! Well worth seeing Alice in Wonderland if you can.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Niques
15/04/2010
Wonderful movie!! Great for all ages!! Wish id seen it in 3D!!
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer lilhorn
15/04/2010
Awesome, wish I'd seen it in 3D
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer collusionbdbh
25/03/2010
Entertaining movie, I enjoyed Johnny Depp's Portrayal of the character. Watched it in 3D and thought they could have done better with that. There was a part with a 3D sword coming out of the screen then the sword went out of the top of the screen and that killed the 3D effect on that part.

Anyway, Nothing spectacular but a good movie and well worth the watch for the entertainment.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
21/03/2010
Alice in Wonderland is a visual feast and an artists delight. But unfortunately the story is typical and boring.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Gandalf
17/03/2010
Alice in Wonderland has been getting a range of reviews, but I really enjoyed it.

Tim Burton does a great job of throwing you straight into a total wonderland. It's wacky, weird and, well..., what you'd expect from him really...

When I first heard there was yet another Burton and Depp film planned I almost groaned but they obviously work well together and share a curious nature and childlike delight. (Sleepy Hollow is one of my favourite films.)

Alice in Wonderland takes you on a magical journey. Purists might be jotting down where it departs from the book, and it does, but the underlying spirit is of the Wonderland. It's like Avatar - very visual - but would recommend not going to the 3D version. The standard film was weird enough for me!
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer s4d
17/03/2010
I was really disappointed with the movie, i found it to be a little on the boring side along with my Wife & Friend, there were funny bits, but the funniest part during the whole movie was the guys weird laugh behind us, But its a movie I would only like to watch once, Also its not really the best movie for young kids, friends of ours took their 2 kids and they didn't get a lot of it....also I have never watched a Tim Burton movie, but I guess he is why its so strange =P
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer Jess Cann
14/03/2010
A lot of the critics that I follow really did not think much of Alice, however I really enjoyed it.

Newbie Mia Wasikowksa was brilliant, being both innocent, quite and strong all at the same time, as well as being the inquisitive Alice that we see on the screen.

Johnny Depp was great. Not brilliant, but great. He does the whole character-acting thing again & he always nails it but I agree with other people who are starting to feel bored every time they see Johnny take on a new character. It's time for a serious role, Mr Depp.

Anne Hathaway was overacting. Helena Bonham-Carter was great as the red queen, but my favourite character would have to be the door mouse. Really quite hilarious & tiny.

Go see Alice in Wonderland. It's great entertainment and the 3D is great too.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Lisa Graham68
12/03/2010
Pretty to look at.....
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer SaraMousa
11/03/2010
Alice in wonderland was very entertaining. It was funny at times and really caught the perspective of the original Alice in wonderland cartoon. It had mystery, a bit of action and it keeps you watching and the fact that it was in 3d was just a bonus.
User icon
StarStarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer RachelThomas
7/03/2010
OK, so the 3D effects are pretty awesome, but as far as it goes for an interesting movie...a little weak in my opinion. I could have easily waited for the DVD.

Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter play great parts, but shouldn't Alice, the leading roll, have been a better actress? Yes in my opinion.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
6/03/2010
The film is great, especially if you see it in IMAX 3D. Johnny Depp is very tamed as the Mad Hatter and the final dance he does at the end we could do without it. I thought the level of violence would scare kids but it didn't.
Overall is a good movie from a great story. The red queen is fantastic!
Worth seeing and get lost in Wonderland! : )
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
6/03/2010
The film is grear, especially if you see it in IMAX 3D. Johnny Depp is very tamed as the Mad Hatter and the final dance he does at the end we could do without it. I thought the level of violence would scare kids but it didn't.
Overall is a good movie from a great story. The red queen is fantastic!
Worth seeing and get lost in Wonderland! : )
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer rosehawthorn
26/02/2010
simply can't wait for Alice in Wonderland - think Helena Bonham Carter is so creepy but I love all the roles she's been cast in...and as for Johnny Depp...well!
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewAuckland in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
image
01 Maleficent: Mistress of Evil (tbc)

Angelina Jolie, Elle Fanning, Michelle Pfeiffer, C...

image
02 An Evening with Beverly Luff Linn (M)

Aubrey Plaza, Matt Berry, Jemaine Clement, Craig R...

image
04 Backtrace (tbc)

Sylvester Stallone, Matthew Modine, Ryan Guzman

image
05 Custody (Jusqu'à la Garde) (M)

Léa Drucker, Denis Ménochet, Thomas Gioria

Content updated: 21/05/2019 19:46

Engage

Connect

Hitwise Award Winner